Hardcover copy of “The Last House on Needless Street” by Catriona Ward

I’m So Mad About “The Last House on Needless Street”

Writers, I swear if you keep doing this I will have a meltdown in the food court and stab my cousin.

Kaya Jean VanAntwerpen
Published in
6 min readJun 3, 2021

--

The Last House on Needless Street is another critical darling that employs what is arguably the most tired trope in horror, all while telling a pseudo-empathetic story that portrays a demonized community as pitiable and incapable of agency.

I’m tired of it and I’m ready to bathe this food-court Sbarro’s in the blood of my least-favorite family member if you don’t all knock it off.

The Last House on Needless Street

Genre: Crime, Psychological Thriller, Body Horror

Release Date:
March 18, 2021 (audiobook September 28, 2021)

Rating:
3/5

Click Here to Order The Last House on Needless Street from Amazon

The Last House on Needless Street follows awkward shut-in Ted and his loyal sidekick, Olivia the cat. Something horrible may or may not have happened in Ted’s past. He was

--

--

Kaya Jean VanAntwerpen
WAYWARD Magazine

Transgender journalist and musician from Grand Rapids, Michigan. Hear noises at chasingthesky.bandcamp.com. Inquiries to kay@kreisaumedia.com