First Look at Better Together’s Branding

drew hornbein
We are Better Together
2 min readOct 24, 2019

An appreciation of Sarah Neighbor’s brand design for a budding association of independent workers

I started working with Neighborly Design Co a few months ago to develop a brand identity for the Better Together Association of Independent Workers. I waxed on and on about the vision, the cultural context, my thoughts of the political implications of organizing workers, and my love of quilts.

She took this information and worked closely with me, more than normal. I fancy myself (bit of) a designer and, with almost 15 years of freelancing behind me, a pretty decent client who is happy to look at work in progress.

I wanted something that referenced a time where workers were strong.

I liked the idea of a quilt, how they are often made from a patchwork of different fabric.

I love this pattern that Sarah came up with, each square feels like a different member of the community, they all have so much character.

Over all I am very pleased with the branding. Lots of fun to play with.

--

--