So, what do you do?

How to make memorable introductions and land more freelance gigs

Monica Stockbridge
We are Better Together
4 min readJun 6, 2019

--

I’m a freelancer, and I’ve found that introducing myself and my work can be challenging.

Sure, I’m a writer, but I’m also a copyeditor, a proofreader, a content strategist, and a communications consultant. What does it all mean? And how can I share that with people who might want to hire me?

Essentially, it’s about how to answer that deceptively simple question: “So, what do you do?”

This can be a tough one for just about anyone, but we freelancers especially seem to struggle with answering this one concisely.

There are many reasons for this.

A lot of us take on many different types of clients and do a variety of work. It can be tough to narrow down exactly the type of work we focus on.

It can also be difficult to narrow down our work in a concise way that makes sense to people outside our own circles.

Finally, we may struggle with nervousness, uncertainty or fear of judgment in social settings, which can make talking about ourselves feel uncomfortable at best.

It takes practice to get comfortable with introductions, especially at networking events with other freelancers and people who might hire freelancers. However, making clear and memorable introductions is a great way to gain confidence and land more gigs as a result.

Here are a few tips for making that happen.

Start with one sentence

If you’re like me, then you probably have experience doing a lot of different things. Maybe you’re a graphic designer who does print signage, web design, and lots of odd jobs in between. Or maybe you’re a writer who creates freelance content for tech firms but also contributes food stories to magazines on the side. How can you share everything you do in one breath?

Simple: you don’t. Instead, try and boil down what you do most or best, and who you do it for. Start with saying your name, then say, generally, what you do and who you help.

A nice exercise is to figure out what you do and who you do it for and say it all in one sentence.

Here’s an example:

“I’m Monica Stockbridge, and I am a writer, editor and content marketing professional who helps businesses and brands communicate their unique stories.”

There! In one sentence, I’ve told you my name, what I do, and who I help. It’s not the whole story, but it’s enough to give people an idea and kick off a longer conversation.

In fact, people will often say, “Oh okay, so you’re a writer? Tell me more about what you write,” or else “Oh, so tell me more about that content marketing piece.” This opens the door to share more about my background and services.

Focus on how you help people

I used to approach introductions as an opportunity to gush about my passions and experience and awesomeness. In fact, it’s hard not to do that, and I still believe a little of that passion should filter through. After all, everyone loves a little enthusiasm!

However, it can be more effective to focus instead on how you help other people, and what they get out of your work.

Think about it like a cover letter — sure, it’s a chance to toot your horn, but above all, you’re convincing folks that you can help them solve their problems. And that’s where their ears will prick up.

In my case, I’ll follow up my intro sentence with something like this:

“I write blog posts, web content, and email campaigns to help agencies and small businesses get the right messages out to the right audience. This helps my clients share useful content with their target customers.”

This second part is an opportunity to put my somewhat elusive work into a more concrete context — especially for people who may not know right off the bat what I do. The goal is to show that my work helps solve a problem or fulfill a need, and does it in a way people can connect with.

People might respond with “Oh, I need blogs on my website!” or “I know someone who needs help rewriting their website content.” Just like that, I’ve made a connection.

Make it easy to stay in touch

As a freelancer, I’m in charge of all my own marketing. It’s not easy to get the word out about who I am and what I do, but when I meet people in person, I try to always hand out a business card.

It may seem old fashioned, but it really works. My business cards aren’t fancy or perfect, but they are something tangible I can leave people with. I use a bold color, and list my name, email and website, along with a few of my services. It’s just another way I try to establish a connection, and leave people with a way to remember me.

As a bonus: if they hand me their own card, I see it as an opportunity to reach out after we meet. I’ll send a note about how nice it was to meet, and reiterate my services if I can ever help them with writing work in the future.

By starting with a simple sentence, focusing on how you help clients, and offering a way to stay in touch, you can achieve more effective connections and start landing more freelance gigs.

Next time you’re networking with people who hire freelancers, give it a try.

Monica Parpal Stockbridge writes about food, travel, marketing and technology in Colorado and beyond. Want to talk with her about your copywriting, editing or content marketing needs? Visit https://monicastockbridge.com/ to get in touch.

--

--

Monica Stockbridge
We are Better Together

Writer, editor, content marketer. Craft beer drinker, tent camper, cat advocate.