“Wherever I work in the future will have to live up to this.”

We Are Bunny Studio
We Are Bunny Studio
5 min readOct 25, 2018

--

How To Work Remotely: Leonardo

Leo during our company retreat in Villa de Leyva, Colombia.

This is part six in a series about how we work at Bunny Studio. We’re a remote company, so we’re based all over the world. We live different lives and come from different cultures, so our ways of working are unique. This is a place where we talk about the challenges of working remotely, as well as share our experiences.

Want to learn how to work remotely? We don’t have all the answers, but here’s how each of us makes it work for us.

Name, job title and location?

Hello! I’m Leonardo Mojica and I live in Buenos Aires, Argentina. I started at Bunny Studio. as Executive Assistant to the COO and, later, to the CEO. Currently though, I’m developing my skills as Recruitment Coordinator.

How long have you worked remotely?

For about a year. More than a year. Around 14 months, maybe.

Is Bunny Studio the first remote company you’ve worked for?

Mmm, yes. Well, the first big one. I did some work remotely for a smaller startup, once, but this is the first time I’ve worked for a company that is fully remote. The main difference, though, is that I didn’t brag about my job then. Now I do. Because we’re the best remote company to work for, hands down.

What does a typical workday look like for you?

Well, let me tell you. My days are very simple. I work, yes, but I also make sure that I make time to give each day personality and an emotional touch. I make time to do the little things that make me happy — play with my cats, listen to nice music, cook good food, do some origami… that sort of thing. You don’t need a lot of grand gestures to be nice to yourself. Like… I’ve surrounded my work desk with books I love. If I have ten minutes or so between meetings I’ll read a bit, stuff like that. Little things like that help keep me focused and inspired. I like being nice to myself.

Sometimes my day is really busy or whatever and I can’t make enough time for myself as I’d like. That’s okay, they’ll be time tomorrow. It’s all about work-life balance, although we prefer the term work-life integration.

So, I don’t really have a strict schedule. Structure is important, right, but so is flexibility. Flexibility means freedom, like the freedom to choose the time I wake up. Well, any time as long as you’re still responsible about finishing your work. That sort of freedom and the ability to take time during the day makes me feel energised most of the time.

Leo sitting at his workspace with one of his furry cat children.

What does your workspace look like?

Look, look, I’ll show you.

[Leo swings his laptop around to show a neat desk in a corner of his apartment, surrounded by piles of books, craft supplies, and some stuffed animals on a high shelf.]

Do you see? I have my books and stuff and my desk and everything I need around me.

[The laptop camera swings back to face Leo.]

When I sit down here, I don’t even feel like I’m at work. I’m still at home. I live on the 16th floor and have an amazing view all day. I can work in my pajamas if I want to. It’s a relaxing place to spend my time. How many people can say that about where they work?

How does working remotely benefit you?

Working remotely has turned me into a much more resourceful person. When there’s no one else around to help you out in a immediate crisis, you get pretty good at solving them yourself. It also made me much better at time management. Again, when there’s no one else around to keep you accountable… you need to keep yourself accountable. All in all, it’s made me more self-reliant.

What challenges do you face when working remotely?

Ha, well… even though not having people around you all the time can help you grow… it’s still challenging. It’s nice to have people around to talk to, laugh with, share food with, that sort of thing. If you work from home most of the time, like I do, it can get lonely sometimes, which can be challenging. You get used to it, definitely, but sometimes you just want to share some snacks.

But just because you’re alone in your apartment doesn’t mean you’re alone. I work with amazing people and can always reach out for a chat if I need to.

Do you have any advice for someone who is thinking about making the change to remote work?

Yeah, two things.

One, make sure you work with amazing people. They’re the ones that will make any stressful days a bit better. In that same vein, if you’re applying for a remote role at a company, make sure that the company culture is a match for you. Everyone works differently, so just because one company’s culture works for me, doesn’t mean that it’ll work for you. Know what you like and how you work and find a place that complements and challenges you.

Two, make sure you’re kick-ass at communication. Respond to emails on time, that sort of thing. When you’re physically separated from your colleagues, accurate and timely communication is the most important thing. If you can’t do that, well, that’s when things could get tough. So, improve your communication skills.

That’s basically “How To Work Remotely 101”: work with amazing people and be amazing at communication. Simple, right?

Leo (left) participating in a storytelling workshop at our retreat.

Did your life change when you started working remotely? If so, how?

Kind of. It immediately made me a modern citizen, you know what I mean? I’m globally connected and work for a place that has a specific future vision. Bunny Studio’s culture is dynamic and supportive. It’s set a new standard for me, work-wise, and wherever I work in the future will have to live up to this.

Thanks so much! Anything else you’d like to add?

Generally, at work, I’m really relaxed and that is a good thing. I can work in my pajamas if I want to. And I do, most days. That’s something that wouldn’t be accepted at many other places. But this sense of calm and comfort isn’t just because I work remotely. It’s because of Bunny Studio’s whole culture. That culture is heavily influenced by remote work, yes, but it’s also about work-life balance and integration. And we do that so well, which makes us the best remote company to work for.

Do you approve of working in your pajamas? Let us know in the comments.

Like what you read? Want to join us? Stay up to date with our latest career offerings!

--

--