My Purpose Driven Leadership Journey

Charné Tromp
CAST Writers
Published in
2 min readJun 22, 2022

Last month I started my journey on the Social Starters Purpose Driven Leaders Programme — a three month fully-funded programme providing coaching and leadership development for women of colour. In just over a month I’ve learnt so much about myself and the women who share this space with me.

Is this for me?

When I first spotted this opportunity, I initially dismissed it. Not because it didn’t seem interesting. On the contrary, it sounded like everything I needed; but my old friends self-doubt and imposter syndrome got to work and I started thinking:

  • I don’t have ‘CEO, Director, Head of, Senior Manager, etc. in my job title
  • maybe my experiences as an immigrant woman of colour will be too different
  • perhaps my leadership experience isn’t relevant
  • will I have enough time to engage
  • am I enough?
A women sits with her hands clasped in deep thought.
Photo by kevin turcios on Unsplash

Much of my working hours are devoted to designing support programmes for charity workers to build their skills and confidence as digital leads, regardless of their background or experience. A large part of my role involves mentoring digital leads, talking through their mental/ emotional/ physical blockers, offering support and encouragement and making connections.

Despite all this and even though I’ve taken on countess leadership roles and led on projects of all shapes and sizes in many different spaces, I was still pretty surprised and excited to be selected to be a part of this programme.

Building connections

It’s been incredible to be surrounded by so many courageous and inspiring women who are slaying it in their industries. Despite our different backgrounds, roles and expertise, there are so many shared experiences amongst us that we’ve been able to connect on.

Our fortnightly calls is always the highlight of my week and have allowed me to build some strong connections with a group of women that I suspect will be a part of my social impact journey long after this programme has ended. Every interaction feels like a safe cocoon gently held by the brilliant Imani Clough, carefully crafted with trust and integrity, where every experience is valued, no matter how different it may be.

Photo by Hannah Busing on Unsplash

The next interaction is focused on joy and rest, two things that I’ve been struggling with over the last few months and trying to prioritise more in my life. So on that note, it’s way past my bedtime and I need to get some shut-eye, but hope to share more about this journey real soon.

--

--