MY COMMUNITY WATER PROJECT

Nii Armah Kwaku Tagoe
2 min readJun 19, 2022

--

I am Nii Armah Kwaku Tagoe, an elected community leader from Accra, Ghana.From Wednesday, 30th March to Friday, 1st April 2022, I undertook my first community project at the Adabraka Cluster of schools.

I acquired a water pump and accompanying accessories to ensure the constant availability of water supply for use by the teachers and close to 1000 students.

Though there’s a borehole available, it doesn’t pump water to all the poly tanks at the cluster of schools.

After reconnecting and laying a few pipes, all the poly tanks on the schools’ premises will now have water filled to the brim once the borehole lever is turned on the head.

They can now freely use their washrooms because of the constant availability of water supply. Also, it ensured there was water available for use on the schools’ premises.

My motivation for this project stemmed from the fact that a student couldn’t finish writing a paper during last year’s Basic Education Certificate Examination(B.E.C.E.) because the washroom on the school’s premises wasn’t accessible due to lack of water.

The said student had gone out of the school to attend nature’s call.

On his return, he was far behind time and couldn’t finish writing the said paper.

This I believe isn’t an occurrence that should befall a future leader who came to school to write a paper that would propel him to the next phase of academic life.

I pray this never befalls an innocent student again due to circumstances beyond their control.

I wish to express my profound gratitude to Cinfo and Fondation Botnar for coming through. You have put smiles on the faces of the teachers and students in Adabraka.

Cinfo(https://www.cinfo.ch/en) and Fondation Botnar(https://www.fondationbotnar.org/) organised the learning journey into leadership program early last year in which I participated. It was fully virtual. There was a grant attached to the program which I could use to undertake a course, etc based on my discretion.I decided to use my grant to solve the water problem at the cluster of schools.

Fondation Botnar is a Swiss philanthropic foundation working to improve the health and wellbeing of young people living in cities around the world. Advocating for the inclusion of youth voices and the equitable use of AI and digital technology, the foundation invests in and supports innovative programs and research, and brings together actors from across sectors to create dialogue and partnerships.

Cinfo offers case-based networking support for individuals, organizations, educational institutions, training in security, intercultural competence, and much more. They guide institutional processes, for example, advising organizations in HR and organizational development.

I also wish to acknowledge the former Circuit Supervisor, Madam Elizabeth Chocho Kasim for bringing it to my attention. They also helped with supervising the project in my absence (due to work constraints). They are former and current leaders of the cluster of schools.

Again, I acknowledge the current Circuit Supervisor, Madam Brenda Attuquayefio, the schools’ management board member(Mr. Nartey) and Parent-Teacher Association(P.T.A.) chairman, Mr. Osei and Mr. Abokyi(Calvary Methodist 1 Assistant Headmaster) for their dedication and selflessness from the inception of the project till its completion.

Attached is a link to the project https://www.facebook.com/1501630658/posts/10227675904352092/?.

--

--