THE WORLD IS YOUR OYSTER

Faiza Mushtaq Khan
We Are Global Changemakers
2 min readNov 1, 2021

Plastic pollution! It spreads like wildfire and as its users, we unknowingly contribute to this issue. As a student, I wanted to tackle this problem in my immediate environment and use plastic to create aesthetic structures, in an attempt to divert it from landfills.

On average a student uses 2–3 pens a month and in a school set up the number multiplies by thousands and upon research, I learned that such cheap plastic is usually non-recyclable. With the data collected and an aim in mind to use plastic in an unconventional and creative manner, I began my journey into the world of Raw Art. A collection drive, a campaign and a structure- a 5ft tall Oyster housing an Earth as the Pearl which conveys a message:

“Mankind has the inherent responsibility of protecting Earth, a precious Pearl”

The collection drive across the school and extra material gathered from a recycling facility gave me about 30 kg of plastic which I adhered onto a metal frame using epoxy resin after which I sprayed a layer of metallic and pearl paint to make the Oyster shine.

This project allowed me to explore the various mediums of adhesives and know about the different categories of plastic being produced. It taught me the importance of reducing plastic waste to the extent of which I now make conscious decisions while purchasing anything and make an effort to dispose plastic in the right manner. I hope to inspire the generations to come to experiment and reuse plastic in creative ways and also produce less plastic waste, one plastic bag at a time.

The journey of many months transformed my dream into a reality as I was fortunate enough to be supported morally and financially by my Principal, Mrs. Manju Balasubramanyam and with the help of my family members, the Oyster was finally complete. It’s my honour to leave a part of me behind at my Alma Mater.

FAIZA MUSHTAQ KHAN

XII – E

CLASS OF 2021

DELHI PUBLIC SCHOOL – BANGALORE NORTH

--

--