#MeetTheHiringManager — Sigal Laufer

We Are HoneyBook
We Are HoneyBook
Published in
4 min readSep 7, 2023

Meet Sigal (she/her), who joined us earlier this year as our Head of People in the US. You can learn more about what she was up to before HoneyBook here, but read on to learn a little bit about her role today, life at HoneyBook, and what it’s like to work on her team.

As the US Head of People at HoneyBook, what does your role entail?
Our People mission is to empower HoneyBookers to grow and flourish, doing what they love. I have the privilege of leading the US People team who bring this mission to life. Our team includes talent acquisition, office & employee experience and DEI, HRBP, and People Operations. We own the entire employee flow from interviewing, to onboarding, through growth and development, to offboarding. As the cultivators of HoneyBook’s culture, we embody the five core values of HoneyBook, and mainly People Come First, in everything we do.

At Venetia Cafe, Sigal’s favorite coffee shop in Palo Alto CA with Oren Zeev, one of our investors wearing a HoneyBook shirt

At HoneyBook, we love what we do. What about your role do you love?
Gosh, there are so many things I love about my role.

  • I LOVE the people that I work for and with. When you think about it, we spend most of our awake time at work so the fact that I can spend it with people that I enjoy is critical for me.
  • I LOVE being a thought partner to HoneyBook’s leadership team by being involved in strategic conversations that impact our business.
  • I LOVE having an impact on our employees’ experience, making sure we create the best work environment where they can have a career built on passion and purpose.
  • I LOVE having conversations with my team, learning from them as well as coaching and empowering them to achieve their full potential.
  • I LOVE partnering with our counterparts in Tel-Aviv on driving cross site initiatives, despite having an ocean between us. For example we foster our culture by celebrating Pride, Halloween, and Wellness Week in both locations. We believe in building long lasting relationships with our co-workers and therefore invest in bringing all HoneyBook employees together for a company event we call ‘one-office-week’.
Celebrating Pride 2023 at our San Francisco Office

What drew you to join the team at HoneyBook? How did you know this was the right place for you at this point in your career?
My entire career had been spent at large corporate companies (Intel, AWS, Twitch, Meta). When I decided to leave Meta I knew I wanted to have a completely different experience which led me to explore joining a start-up. Once I heard about the opportunity at HoneyBook, I asked around my network about the company. Everyone I asked said ‘oh, HoneyBook has a unique, people oriented culture’. That got me intrigued — what’s their secret sauce? Once I met with the leadership and the People team in TLV and the US, I immediately knew HoneyBook was the right place for me. I appreciated the honest conversations we had during my interview process — we truly kept it real. But most importantly, I could sense that People Come First was not just a slogan but a value that was ingrained in HoneyBook’s DNA. I knew I had to be part of this culture, which is the secret sauce of our success.

Global People team at a company offsite earlier this year

What would you like anyone considering joining the People team to know about it?
This is the BEST People team to join! Each person brings their unique super power and expertise that together creates the magic of HoneyBook. We truly care about each other and are eager to help and support our peers when needed. Everyone loves what they do and we aim to raise the bar with every initiative and program we roll out. We have open and honest conversations, we laugh together, and even cry together. All-in-all, we are “the honey” that binds our employee community together, whether hybrid or remote.

What’s the one snack you can’t live without?

That’s easy. That will be chocolate. I also love coffee — is that considered a snack?

Sigal, pictured with her family

Thanks for reading along! Follow us to be among the first to read our next edition of #MeetTheHiringManager, as well as other great content about life at HoneyBook.

--

--

We Are HoneyBook
We Are HoneyBook

Meet the HoneyBookers empowering independent service-based businesses with the tools they need to be successful doing what they love: www.honeybook.com/careers