Developing the habit of writing

How did I

--

I am a reader, have been since I could put words together. I enjoy reading above anything else (especially writing), and people who read everyday will understand why.

I had this nagging voice in my head since I was probably twelve that I could be a writer, and that was because I read much and had a flair for the language, coupled with a whole bunch of original thoughts in my head that I felt people would enjoy.

Or so I thought.

Each time I would pick up a book at the store, I’d feel lousy that it was not written by me. I looked around and imagined my name on the shelves, and yet for the love of everything books, could not get myself to come up with one.

Don’t get me wrong, I did write. I wrote a great deal. I even made everyone I knew read them. The only problem was I could never complete it.

If I was writing a novel, I would be super excited that on the first day I would write over 5000 words. Anyone who read it would say, I have a future in writing, I would feel happy, and then by the next week it would all fail even before I properly began.

You see, writing the story was not hard, finishing it was.

Then last year, I sat down and decided to complete one story everyday (forget the word count), and lo and behold it worked. I completed a book of short stories which will be published next month, and this is volume 1. I am half-way through volume 2 and hope to publish that as soon as I can.

How did it happen?

I set an achievable goal, by telling myself that I shall finish one story each day. And because I enjoyed it so much and saw the results of a completed story, I wrote everyday.

I wrote everyday! I set aside time (you can give yourself half an hour each day, right?) and just sat in front of the computer.

But more than anything you must believe that your story/essay/novel is incomplete and useless until you finish it. And when you enjoy the feeling of a work that is complete, it is then that you will be so ridiculously happy that you will be motivated to write more, and more, and more..until you finish each one of them.

So how do you develop the habit of writing?

Like any other habit, you have to do it too much, everyday if possible. And you must enjoy it. Eventually it becomes a part of you, and you will not be needed to be reminded when to write.

Also you must make the time to read. When you read other peoples work not only are you more well informed, but it will help you to think. And that thought is what will motivate you to write ..and the rest is upto you.

To summarise:

  1. Finish what you begin to write
  2. Enjoy what you write
  3. Write as much as you can! You must discipline yourself.
  4. Be motivated to write (read blogs, books etc etc).

If this happens for you, soon you will be writing in your sleep.

Ps: My first book is called ‘A Moments Indulgence’ and can be found at http://bit.ly/roseami . ☺ Do leave a review! Thanks, heaps!

--

--