About Europe

When the dust settles.

Luis Pereira
We, Gazela
2 min readNov 14, 2015

--

Today, as many of you, I woke up with the news on the Paris terrorist atack.

“Not again, come on…”

[A brief moment of reflection for the victims and families.]

Then I started thinking what this can mean for Europe, which recently has been dealing with a refugee crisis from Syria, avoiding Greece’s bankruptcy at the last minute, and, what the hell, even taking a share of affairs from my sweet lovely Portugal [I will go back for you, baby, don’t worry].

All of these are stretching the rope of european solidarity, and it can only go so far…

The major consequence among people I trade impressions on a daily basis is a feeling of disappointment with the european experience . Everytime an event of this kind happens, something is lost. And the fear of losing our cultural identity rises, bringing with it the “Let’s protect what is ours”-attitude, and close Europe to the world.

I also am afraid that many of the portuguese traditions and principles I grew up with will disappear eventually. But then it struck me that one of the most basic european principles is the acceptance of others, regardless of cultural differences. Putting away multiculturalism is also losing part of our identity, of what makes us europeans. Is that advisable?

“When eventually the time to stand comes, what will you stand up for?”

[I’m sure this has been said before, but too lazy to search, I’m leaving it in quotes.]

So today, #prayforparis, but also #thinkforeurope. And please tell me if you reach any interesting conclusion.

--

--