Pandora’s Promise

Dakota Younger
We Ignite
Published in
2 min readMar 27, 2015

I honestly can’t say why I started watching this film but I’m fairly certain it started as an attempt to fall asleep late at night. I’m also pretty sure I was initially under the assumption that it had something to do with the deteriorating quality of music coming from Pandora music app…

In terms of movies to fall asleep to, I don’t think I could have made a worse choice but not for the reason you might think. Unlike a lot of the documentaries on Netflix that seem to have been created for the sole purpose of inducing some combination of guilt, paranoia and/or anger, Pandora’s Promise was just straight up interesting.

Keep in mind that this is coming from a guy that thought he was watching a documentary on a music app in an effort to fall asleep. In all likelihood, the decision was a coin toss between this and the 80′s version of Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, the coin landed too far from the couch and I chose Pandora’s Promise because it was on the screen.

Of course, I would recommend doing your own research before developing any firm opinions on the topic of “clean” energy. At the very least watch a few additional documentaries that provide opposing arguments (probably not as effective and may lead to feelings of guilt, paranoia and/or anger) but either way, I would definitely recommend taking the time to check this particular film out. Very interesting.

“Whatever your stance, Stone’s compelling film opens Pandora’s Box and promises to chance the conversation for years to come” — Sundance Film Festival

--

--