BUD LIGHT ORANGE

Natalie Wiesnet
We Like Tall Boys
Published in
3 min readJul 13, 2018

Happy Friday, #WLTB family! Summer is in full swing, the World Cup is coming to a close (I’m rooting for France, personally), and it’s going to be a perfect weekend to try out a new beer. I went to a bonfire earlier this week, and of course being the true Syracuse fans my friends and I are, we picked up a 12 pack of Bud Light Orange (#GoCuse). I’m not usually a fan of fruity alcohol but I ended up giving this thing a try. I mean, Bud Light isn’t too bad… so how bad could this new flavor be?

Beer Name: Bud Light Orange
City and State of Origin: St. Louis, Missouri
Year Created: 1852
ABV: 4.2%
Cost: $7.99 for a 6 pack in bottles (oof)

Taste: My first thought was, “This tastes like Bud Light but mixed with… Sunkist?” The beer taste is less apparent than the orange for the first sip. The more sips I took, the more apparent the orange flavor was. I hate that I’m enjoying this.

How do I feel? I feel like this is actually a pretty refreshing beer. The sun is setting, we have a bonfire roaring, my feet are up, and this weird Sunkist Beer is actually hitting the spot. Wait… how much sugar is in this thing?

When To Drink Bud Light Orange: I feel like summertime is an incredibly appropriate time to drink this beer. It’s not heavy at all since it’s a light beer, and the fruit taste is refreshing and oddly enjoyable. The more you drink, the less beer you taste. It’s kind of reminiscent of (a weak) sangria — fruity and incredibly enjoyable. The good thing about Bud Light Orange vs sangria is that you don’t get totally wrecked after one cup. Score! But HECK, I need to straight up force myself to not look at the nutrition facts because I’m wholly convinced this is just sugar.

I couldn’t contain myself. Spoiler alert — there are 9 GRAMS OF SUGAR IN THIS, OH MY GOSH.

To put this in perspective - I did the math and added up the total cobined sugar in the other 11 beers we have reviewed so far. The total there? 5 grams of sugar. Like, yeah, maybe 9 grams of sugar isn’t a lot compared to a soda, but DANG Y’ALL there are so many other tasty, less sugary summer beers out there.

Okay, my sugar rant is now over.

Overall Rating: 5/10. I’m not going to lie, I would have given Bud Light Orange a higher rating if there wasn’t so much sugar in it. That being said, if you’re not concerned about sugar intake or if you’re planning on playing a rousing game of Spikeball or Kan Jam while drinking this so you can burn off all that sugar, you’re golden, my friend. This beer is light (obviously), refreshing, and pretty tasty overall. Maybe one every once in a while is fine, but I personally wouldn’t pound a couple of these in a row.

Cheers!

Natalie

--

--