DEEP ELLUM BREWING BLIND LEMON HARD SELTZER

Erin Miller
We Like Tall Boys
Published in
3 min readJul 16, 2020

Has this last month been a decade, or WHAT?!

Right after we started posting blogs again, a lot (more) of shit hit the fan in the world and it felt weird to take up space on the internet. After some reflection, we came to the conclusion that the “We Like Tall Boys” blog is our place to build a supportive and constructive community around sharing a drink.

After reviewing this tall boy, I’m going to dedicate this drink to some educational resources I recommend you check out to help make this world a better place.

Quarantine cut!

Seltzer name: Blind Lemon

Origin: Deep Ellum Brewing Company, Dallas, TX USA

Brewery Founded: 2011

ABV: 5% ABV

Price: $2.50/pint

Taste: The only hard seltzer I had before this one was a White Claw (AIN’T NO LAWS) and I can say with confidence that I like this Blind Lemon a lot more.

First off, it comes in pints. But it is also a lot less sweet than a Claw. It tastes like sparkly lemon water. A lot of people referred to the flavor as “spritzy.” It is really refreshing and light, coming in it at a whopping 100 calories total. The alcohol inside is derived from cane sugar.

How Do I Feel? This tall boy made me feel so much better. My air conditioner broke earlier in the week. As y’all know, I live in Austin, TX where it is quite warm. It was 99 degrees outside and 92 degrees inside. After complaining on Instagram, a bunch of homies pulled through and let me borrow fans and portable ACs.

Despite the circumstances, I had a pretty sick setup in my warm apartment with the fan blowing on me, Avatar: The Last Air Bender playing on the TV, and a Blind Lemon in my hand.

Poundability: 10/10 These are so tasty and refreshing that you can drink a bunch of these EASILY.

I had to tape my back door shut to use this AC unit and I couldn’t water my plants for a week.

When To Drink A Blind Lemon: Although light and refreshing, this is a bold drink! Blind Lemon is named after a street musician in the Deep Ellum neighborhood, know for his “unusual vocal range and loud volume.”

This is a perfect summer drink and the fun can design is a funky cool plus!

Overall: 9/10 I highly recommend this tall boy for all my homies out there. You don’t have to be gluten free to enjoy a hard seltzer. But this ALMOST makes me not miss beer.

Crack open a tall boy, my friends and I’d like to make a toast. Today’s drink is dedicated to bettering ourselves through education on racism in America. I really enjoy this entire series because it covers a lot of questions we may have but are afraid to ask. Also Matthew McConaughey is in episode 2. Also this was recorded in Austin, TX!

This is a great thing to watch while you have a drink. Here’s to learning!

Cheers,
Erin

--

--

Erin Miller
We Like Tall Boys

Rallying the entrepreneurial thinkers of the continental United States. We ascend together.