DOS EQUIS LAGER ESPECIAL

Natalie Wiesnet
We Like Tall Boys
Published in
3 min readAug 2, 2018

July was a month of traveling for me and, in typical Natalie fashion, I had some flight issues too. Storms all along the East Coast cancelled two of my flights and delayed a third flight of mine by six hours. And because nothing says ‘your flight has been delayed for 6 hours’ like ordering a ludicrously expensive beer, I thought I would partake in a part of the drink cart that I’ve never explored before — the beer menu. So, let’s go:

Beer Name: Dos Equis Lager Especial

City and State of Origin: Monterrey, Mexico

Year Created: 1897

ABV: 5%

Cost: $13.50 for a 12 pack of bottles

Taste: It may just be because I’m exhausted and finally on my airplane, but this beer tastes great. Dos Equis is one of those ‘cheaper’ beers that actually tastes like beer. There’s body and substance to this liquid magic, and it’s incredibly refreshing without being too heavy. I decided to get fancy and pair my beer with those Biscoff cookies that you get on American Airlines flights and I must say: this is quite a tasty combo. The ginger and cinnamon taste of the cookies pair nicely with the smooth and crisp flavor of this beer.

How Do I Feel? I feel absolutely amazing. I’m on my plane, this beer is hitting the spot, and even though I’m drinking it ridiculously fast (#NotSorry), I don’t feel gross. I do feel a little judged though… Is it just me or do you feel judged when you order alcohol on a plane when you’re young and traveling by yourself?

Oh well. I needed this. TREAT YO SELF WHEN SITUATIONS GET ROUGH.

When To Drink Dos Equis Lager Especial? I can’t think of any occasion when Dos Equis wouldn’t be an appropriate beer to drink. Though Dos Equis is one of the more ‘expensive’ cheap beer options, it truly doesn’t disappoint. If you’re a beer drinker that actually likes the taste of beer as opposed to carbonated alcohol water, you should definitely give Dos Equis a try. I truly don’t think you’ll be disappointed.

Overall Rating: 9/10 I’ll be the first to admit that I probably didn’t take enough time drinking this beer as I should have (my 12 ounce can was gone in approximately 6 minutes), but MAN it was such a good beer. I feel like it tastes great, is light enough to where you can drink a couple of them and not feel bloated or super drunk. The only downside to Dos Equis (for me) is that made me a little burp-y. If you can handle that side effect, you’re gonna LOVE this beer.

Thanks for hanging out with us on this #ThirstyThursday, fam! Be sure to give us a follow on Instagram and leave us suggestions on what to review next! You’ll also want to keep an eye out for some SUPER COOL COLLABS happening in the very near future. #WLTB is growing quickly and we’re so happy for you guys to with us on this journey!

Cheers,

Natalie

--

--