FRESH HAZE IPA

Erin Miller
We Like Tall Boys
Published in
3 min readApr 4, 2019

--

My favorite gift to receive is beer. My buddy’s (Kea’s) mom visited her from Maryland and they came over for a round of Bananagrams and they brought beer!

Me and my buddy’s mom, Diana, at the Austin Kite Festival.

I guess I’ve developed kind of a reputation for liking tall boys so Diana brought over two extra large tall boys (19.2 fl oz! WOW!). One was a Laguinitas Lil Sumpin’ and the other was Deschutes’ Fresh Haze IPA.

Kea came over last night for a dinner party and I decided to crack open one of these tall boys and this is what I thought of it.

Beer name: Fresh Haze IPA
Brewery, city, and country of origin: Deschutes Brewery in Bend, Oregon, USA
Year created: 2018 (fun fact: The Fresh Haze IPA is Deschutes’ newest IPA!)
ABV: 6.5%
Cost: $3.59 per 19.2 fl oz can

Taste: Upon initial sips, I concluded that this Fresh Haze IPA is a skunky girl! My expectations for an IPA and even a DIPA is super bitter, hoppy, and skunky. This beer DELIVERED. I was reading some reviews on Fresh Haze and a lot said that it’s supposed to be citrusy, but I got none of those vibes, y’all. If I were to describe the taste, it’d definitely by “hazy” and “tangy” (in a non-citrus-y way) so I definitely agree with the naming process of this extra tall boy.

Love this orange can!

How Do I Feel? I’ve had a severe shortage of beer in the fridge so thanks Diana for supplying some brews! I was a little intimidated about the size of the can but after finishing about a quarter of the can I was motivated to crush the whole can (see Poundability Factory below before you try and crush one).

Poundability Factor: This is NOT a poundable beer. This is something you sip with dinner. It has such a strong taste and flavor that you’ll probably kill your tastebuds if you tried to pount one.

When to Drink Fresh Haze IPA: This is a meal beer! That doesn’t mean that you have the beer as a whole meal (like a porter or stout). It means that you should have this beer with a hearty plate of Italian food: I’d suggest parmesan-crusted chicken with spaghetti and garlic bread!

Overall rating: 8/10 I really enjoyed this extra tall boy experience but I think it’s a once-in-a-while kind of thing. Maybe I have a weak palate tolerance for this strong flavor, but this is a beer I’d taste but not order for myself. I still love the branding, taste, and overall attitude of Fresh Haze! ❤

Guys, we’ve been really on top of our posts! Sometimes I fall off track and post late or not at all. We really appreciate y’alls support and admiration as we continue to create for this blog that has given us so much!! I mean, last week we got to 100 followers on Instagram. Small wins, y’all.

I’m headed to Syracuse in a few weeks and Natalie and I are gonna sit down to figure out how to accelerate and elevate We Like Tall Boys. If any of you have ideas on how to do so, hit us up on Instagram!

Cheers,

Erin

--

--

Erin Miller
We Like Tall Boys

Rallying the entrepreneurial thinkers of the continental United States. We ascend together.