LEINENKUGEL SUNSET WHEAT

Natalie Wiesnet
We Like Tall Boys
Published in
2 min readFeb 7, 2017

As I walked through the aisles of my local HEB Plus (#TexasForever) looking for a new beer to try, I was drawn to the Leinenkugel Sunset Wheat. Now that football season is officially over, it’s almost baseball season which means hotdogs, long summer days, and the perfect summer beer to balance everything out.

The kicker, though, is that the perfect summer beer has to be cheap… because student loan repayments aren’t.

So I grabbed a six pack of the Sunset Wheat and made my way back home to eat dinner and dip into my newly purchased brew. I was excited to start my own mini kickback and to see what this beer was all about.

So without further ado, let’s do this thing.

Beer name: Leinenkugel Sunset Wheat

ABV: 4.9%

Origin: Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin

Price: $7.64 for a six pack

Overall Review

Now I’ll be the first to say that I love a good wheat beer. There’s something about the taste that relaxes me and makes me feel like I’ve been transported to the summer season. This beer, however, missed this typical wheat taste completely, much to my dismay. What this beer lacked in the traditional wheat-y flavor made up for it in sweet fruit flavor. When you take a sip of the Sunset Wheat, it almost tastes like you’re sipping on sweet oranges and cherries with just a hint of a bitter wheat/hop taste.

This is the kind of beer that I can see people drinking during the summer while at the beach or lake, or while watching a baseball game or early season football game when it’s still nice enough to tailgate. This is a beer that screams to be consumed outside while relaxing and eating some food cooked on a grill.

However, for me it was far too sweet. Like, almost sickeningly sweet. This is more of a Blue Moon kind of wheat beer that goes down easy and gives you a light buzz after you’ve thrown back a couple. I will say that the sweetness goes away a bit if you’re actively eating while drinking this beer, but I couldn’t even get through a full bottle without having to call it quits with a couple of sips left in the bottom of the bottle.

Overall rating: 4.5/10

You definitely get bang for you buck at just seven bucks and change for a six pack, but if you’re like me and would rather consume your sugar in chocolate bar form, I’d pass on this one, my friends.

Thanks for stopping by, homies! Look forward to more reviews by both myself and Erin in the coming weeks. Get excited because I know I am.

Cheers,

Natalie

--

--