NOMADIC BEERWORKS GALLIVANTER

Erin Miller
We Like Tall Boys
Published in
3 min readJul 11, 2019

Growing up, I had the coolest neighbors. They had a really big house, a pool, a puppy, and a hammock, and they let my brother and I hang out with them all the time. I realized it was a special gift to have awesome neighbors and while no one can top my OG childhood neighbors, the homies that live next door to me in Austin are pretty rad kids.

My neighbor Angie pouring pints at the grand opening of Nomadic!

Angie and Dan helped launch a brewery in Southwest Austin called Nomadic Beerworks. It’s a charming little taproom with rustic branding and a solid community following for how new it is. A group of friends and I went on over for the grand opening and had a blast.

Dogs are allowed here. Also I only wear my overalls on the weekends. Griffin is pictured on the right.

The beer pictured is the Peak Season IPA, but I’m going to review the beer Angie and Dan got me for my birthday: The Gallivanter.

A crowler is a 32-ounce growler-sized can. It’s quite large so I placed it next to my dog, Horse, for scale.

Beer name: Gallivanter Double IPA

Brewery, city, and country of origin: Nomadic Beerworks, Austin, TX, USA

Brewery Founded: 2017

ABV: 9.2% ABV (RIP me)

Taste: Wow! This is a potent beer. With a pleasantly bitter (but not too skunky) nose, this is a refreshingly tangy IPA. There’s a bitter backend probably because it has double the IPA power. Lemony smell, slightly sour. The taste kind of becomes indescribable after a few sips but that’s because it’s v strong. I like it a lot!

How Do I Feel? I looked on Untappd for reference and the Gallivanter is usually served in half-pint pours. I ended up drinking the full 36 ounces (aka 2 pints). So other than a little sloshed, I’m feel glowing and thankful and loved. It seems like Nomadic has a lot of different types of beers and I am curious to try them all! I had a great experience at their Grand Opening playing corn hole with my friends, and I’m sure I’ll be back soon.

Poundability: 2/10. After draining this crowler in one sitting while writing this review, I don’t recommend pounding this beer. See the next section for when to drink this beer.

When To Drink The Gallivanter: If your day is full of frolicking, a couple of half pints of the Gallivanter are a great move. With a pungent flavor and bold vibes, this beer is a fist-pumping accent to your beer-ventures. Next time you find yourself in Southeast Austin, stop by Nomadic and taste this beer!

Overall: 6/10. Thanks Dan and Angie for the Nomadic crowlers! Y’all are the best.

Wowee, y’all! Thanks for reading all our summer posts. Natalie and I are planning a beer tour in the Bay Area in the Spring. We’re trying to get Lyft to be our designated driver for the weekend (aka give us free rides) so do us a favor and like this tweet to get their attention.

If you have any snazzy beers y’all want us to try, send us a message on Instagram. And as always, give us some claps for this post. We like getting applause.

Cheers y’all,

Erin

--

--

Erin Miller
We Like Tall Boys

Rallying the entrepreneurial thinkers of the continental United States. We ascend together.