SHINER HOLIDAY CHEER

Erin Miller
We Like Tall Boys
Published in
2 min readFeb 13, 2017

I had a collection of miscellaneous beer saved up for the Super Bowl (aka the Lady Gaga concert), but only one seemed fit for the beer review.

Texas beer cheer

I have never heard of Shiner Bock until my girlfriend told me that it was her dad’s favorite beer, hands down. It’s the official beer of Texas, and definitely a step up in class from Lone Star (respect, respect).

Beer Name: Shiner Holiday Cheer
ABV: 5.4%
Origin: Shiner, TX
Price: $9.99 for a 6-pack

OVERALL REVIEW

The label says that this beer has hints of pecans and peaches. Hints. HINTS? More like a jab in the jaw. Holy shit, this tastes straight up like peaches. Peach beer. If you’re cool with that, go for this fruity foamy beverage.

I’m not saying that I didn’t like it, but it certainly didn’t give me holiday cheer. Maybe because it’s been sitting in the bus since December with fluctuating degrees of refrigeration (#buslife) and I only popped it open now for the Super Bowl/Lady Gaga concert. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

Rating: 4.5/10

Like a Shiner Bock, this beer has a medium-body, dark amber color, and a flavor that stands on its own pretty well. The added “cheer” is an overwhelming addition of peachy-ness, and I guess some nutty pecan extract (pecans are the Texas nut, apparently). Also, wayy too pricey. This barely falls under the category of “cheap beer”.

I feel like I need to be wearing an ugly Christmas sweater doing an aggressive White Elephant gift exchange to thoroughly enjoy this beer. It was good enough to sip here and there throughout the Super Bowl/Lady Gaga concert. Had to wash out the lingering peach taste with a Miller Lite, though. Should I review a Miller Lite? This is a thing to think about.

Also, strong shoutout to Natalie right now. Her birthday is tomorrow. Day of Love but more importantly, Day of Natalie.

Happy birthday to Natalie, my co-writer of “We Like Tall Boys”

Cheers,
Erin

--

--

Erin Miller
We Like Tall Boys

Rallying the entrepreneurial thinkers of the continental United States. We ascend together.