SYRACUSE SPECIAL EDITION — SAHM BREWING COMPANY

Erin Miller
We Like Tall Boys
Published in
3 min readDec 13, 2018

Syracuse radiates a familiar feeling of home for me. It’s where I lived as a university student, where I filmed my first short film, and where a lot of my dear friends live. I was back in town for a week and my priority was to get a beer with Natalie.

I saw a poster on a street corner downtown for a brewery called Sahm. After saying it out loud, I immediately broke into song:

“Sahm-BODY once TOLD me the WORLD was gonna roll me. I AIN’T the sharpest tool in THE shedddddd…”

I snapped a pic and sent it to Natalie and we planned a night out to the Smashmouth bar after work.

You just gotta say it out loud.

Sahm Brewery has a lot of positive buzz on Yelp and seems to have a popping social media presence. Upon arrival, we realized the buzz lived on the internet and not in the bar because it was EMPTY save the bartender.

I asked him if he was Sahm to which he replied “yep” and that was that. We pored over the binder sheet menu and picked our respective brews.

I picked beer called “Disguising Mistakes as Goodbyes.” I just had to. How could I pass on something like that? Angsty 90s rock blared on the sound system to an audience of three people. It was a mood.

Beer Name: Disguising Mistakes as Goodbyes
Brewery: Sahm Brewery
City and Country of Origin: Syracuse, NY
Year Created: 2017 (this is when they opened in Syracuse, so also a guess since they’re v new)
ABV: 5.5%
Cost: $5.00 for a pint

An angsty 15 y/o boyish girl with her angsty beer.

Taste: This was a brown amber beer. It had an earthy taste that reminded me of machego cheese (my fave cheese of all time). It was very low fizz which is something I’m not super used to and I don’t know if I like. Overall, I enjoyed the flavor and heaviness of the beer but not the carbonation factor.

How do I feel? It feels really good to be back in the city where I met my best friends. It doesn’t even matter if the bar is empty because the people I’m with makes it count. Also the locally-owned vibe is a huge plus. I hope Sahm succeeds, and that their customers remain loyal and talkative of their company. Since the brewery is in a v old v pubby feeling building, I feel like I’m at a warm empty dive bar in a snowstorm: cozy, without any worries of the weather.

When should I drink this beer? If you’re feeling silly or angsty, with a mood for an amber beer, this is the one for you.

Overall rating: 8/10

Bye, Syracuse! I’ll be back for more beer soon.

Wow, this was a fun one! If you like tall boys and LOVE We Like Tall Boys the bloggo, smash those clappy claps on Medium and hit us with an additional follow on our Instagrizzle. Let us know your thoughts on the next tall boy we should crush and write silly things about here. We love all y’all for supporting our creative endeavors through a beer-colored lens and we’re very excited to bring new and thirst-quenching content your way!

Cheers y’all,

Erin

--

--

Erin Miller
We Like Tall Boys

Rallying the entrepreneurial thinkers of the continental United States. We ascend together.