THE KNUCKLEBALLER

Erin Miller
We Like Tall Boys
Published in
3 min readJan 17, 2019

After the end of a long day, sometimes I just want to kick back with a can of something I know will be good. That doesn’t happen all the time. Things happen, you know? I come across new flavors in all different types of ways.

That’s what happened with The Knuckleballer.

A man tossed me a 4-pack and told me thanks for helping him run an event. It was a solid reward after a 3-hour gig of making sure trash was empty and that people were having a good time. Also free beer is always the goal, so this was a win.

Best gift, imo

Also the can game is strong. Right?!

The first thing I asked myself was “WTF is a Kolsch exactly?” Which then led to some internet research. According to this website, a kolsch is “a clear beer with a bright, straw-yellow hue,” with “a prominent, but not extreme, hoppiness.”

I’m glad I looked it up, because I had my own definition of a kolsch based on past experiences and observations. I classified a kolsch as “a lighter summer-y beer.”

Beer Name: The Knuckleballer
City and Country of Origin: Austin, TX
Year Created: 2018
ABV: 5.4%
Cost: $7.99 for a 4-pack of tall boys

Taste: The Knuckleballer kind of has an apple-y scent and initial taste. It’s got a bitter back-of-the-tongue taste but not in a way that dries out your mouth. It definitely tastes summer-y and light with a bold follow-up.

How Do I Feel? I love local beer! I feel really excited to learn about a new brewery I can go visit that I have a little background on. In Austin, and a lot of up and coming cities these days, there are a LOT of places to choose from when it comes to new experiences. If there’s something that can push you to make a decision, then that is a win.

When To Drink The Knuckleballer: Further research concluded that this beer was made for people who watch baseball. I’m doing the complete opposite of that: I’m sitting at my computer and eating potato chips and I’m v happy.

I also found out who the heck Uncle Billy was. According to the brewery’s website, he was a “Texas settler, William “Uncle Billy” Barton, who in the 1830s established a homestead on the land on the west bank of the Colorado River and the mouth of Spring Creek, the location that is now home to Barton Springs Pool.”

That’s near where I live!

The founders of Uncle Billy’s Brewery chose this name to reflect the chill and independent demeanor of their target audience. So if you’re feeling that type of way, grab The Knuckleballer.

Overall Rating: 9/10

Another week, another tall boy! Follow us on the ‘Gram for daily story updates and other fun posts to accompany each blog. Let us know you’re reading by clicking the applause button on Medium, by dropping us some love on Instagram, or by commenting below to suggest what we should drink next!

Cheers, y’all!

Erin

--

--

Erin Miller
We Like Tall Boys

Rallying the entrepreneurial thinkers of the continental United States. We ascend together.