TIAJUANA MEXICAN LAGER

Erin Miller
We Like Tall Boys
Published in
2 min readJul 28, 2018

We’re not supposed to judge a book by its cover, I know that. But sometimes I can’t resist a really fresh and appealing design. The Tiajuana Mexican Lager can design intrigued me the first time I saw it at Trader Joe’s in Austin a month and a half ago.

It’s a friendly yellow and approachable pinstripe design. Also it was $0.84 per can so I just had to get it for a WLTB review. Here we go!

I totally forgot to take a picture of my beer can so the next day I went to Trader Joe’s to snag another can but they only had this 12-pack and I was on my bike that day thus could not transport. This is what Natalie calls a “shelfie” aka a “shelf selfie.” Trust me when I say that the box design is the same as the can, only as a cylinder.

Beer Name: Tiajuana (TJ) Mexican Lager
City and State of Origin: Tiajuana, Baja California, Mexico
Year Created: 2000
ABV: 5%
Cost: $0.48 for a single can or $9.99 for a 12-pack in cans

TASTE: THE CAN DID NOT DISAPPOINT. This is a solid beer, y’all. After a hot Austin day, this was a welcome chilled beverage to settle down withfor the night. It’s a small can with big flavor and a light feel. What does that mean? Well, it tastes mildy hoppy but it doesn’t dry out your mouth like a super strong IPA might. It’s a lager so it isn’t heavy at all. It’s just super refreshing and has a nice bold taste without all the bunky after-stank. Despite the haterade shade homies are tossing out about this beer on Reddit with drinkers who were “thoroughly unimpressed” by TJ’s, my positive opinion is not tainted.

How do I feel? Honestly, I’m very glad that I liked this beer cuz I only chose it after a super judgy assessment of aesthetics. I also feel like I scored big because this TJ was part of a build-your-own 6-pack I assembled in Trader Joe’s to satisfy my adventurous beer palate. Sometimes you can really strike out by choosing random brews. Not this time, though.

When To Drink Tiajuana Mexican Lager: This is a BBQ party beer. Trying to buy a crowd-pleasing beer in bulk? TJ’s has your back. This is an ideal pairing with some Mexican flavors, so if you’re looking for something to wash down a taco or five, I suggest poppin’ open a cold TJ. Also if you’re broke but think other cheap beers taste like bread water, mix up your bland life with this beer instead.

Overall Rating: 9.5/10 I have no qualms with this beer except that I didn’t have more than I single can on hand but that’s a personal problem.

Oh yeah! Don’t forget to hit us up on Instagram with a solid follow and give Natalie and I some suggestions of what to review next.

Cheers!

Erin

--

--

Erin Miller
We Like Tall Boys

Rallying the entrepreneurial thinkers of the continental United States. We ascend together.