YUENGLING TRADITIONAL LAGER

Erin Miller
We Like Tall Boys
Published in
3 min readMay 20, 2018

Nothing brightens my day more than receiving a text from Natalie that says:

“Beers today?”

The famed pub of Syracuse’s University Neighborhood is Faegan’s, a family-friendly beer and burgers restaurant during the day and the michievous home of Flip Night* during the night.

(*Oh, you don’t know what Flip Night is? At 10pm every Wednesday, you pay a $10 cover to challenge your bartender to a coin toss. Win the call, get your beer of choice for $1**. Lose the call, pay full price. GAMBLING AND ALCOHOL? SOUNDS WHOLESOME.)

((**It was free back in our day))

Anyway, Natalie and I grabbed some beer and fries after the work day and our bevvie of choice was Yuengling Traditional Lager.

Beer Name: Yuengling Traditional Lager
City and State of Origin: Pottsville, Pennsylvania
Year Created: 1829
ABV: 4.5%
Cost: $7.30/6-pack

Erin’s Review:

Taste: Gonna be real, Yuengling tastes like rotting grass.

How Do I Feel? The whole aesthetic of Yuengling throws me off. Firstly, it’s a darker beer in a green bottle which makes no sense to my eyeballs and therefore throws off my sense of taste.

This beer is my friend Alex’s favorite beverage and it was all we drank when I visited him one weekend at University of Pennsylvania. Now I only associate its consumption with sitting on the floor of someone else’s house wondering if we’d ever make a decision on whether or not we were going to go out that night. LIQUID INDECISION.

When To Drink Yuengling: If it’s your last resort.

Overall Rating: 2/10, based on taste, value, and availability

  • *ERIN’S NOTE** Drinking any beer with Natalie is always a pleasure and my experience drinking Yuengling with her has no influence on my poor review of the beer.

Natalie’s Review:

Taste: Yuengling isn’t one of my favorite cheap beers… it’s more one of those that you take if someone offers it to you if you didn’t bring your own drinks to a party. Either way, it’s kinda skunky, kinda sweet/malty, light enough to throw back a couple in an afternoon.

How Do I Feel? The best way to describe how I feel is just ‘meh.’ Like I said, it’s not my favorite cheap beer, but it gets the job done. Though I think I’ll always have a special place in my heart for Yuengling because it’s the first drink I got when I was of legal age — my buddy Brad and I split a pitcher at Chuck’s (RIP, old friend) in the middle of a snow storm. Good times.

When To Drink Yuengling: I think it’s a solid backyard BBQ beer, or a good option to get if you’re at a baseball game. It’s not too light to where you have to get 8 to feel a buzz, but not too heavy that it’s a one-and-done beer.

Overall Rating: 5/10. There are definitely tastier options that are just as cheap, if not cheaper

--

--

Erin Miller
We Like Tall Boys

Rallying the entrepreneurial thinkers of the continental United States. We ascend together.