Existentialism

Another of Life’s Bridges

Trapped by the book clasped in my hand

Mason Bushell
WE PAW Bloggers

--

This last weekend I met another author through Facebook. He asked about my books, opening wounds as if swinging a claymore sword. His reasoning was to try to help me of course. He came with the wisdom of multiple publications under his belt, and even said a few good things. Yet its only recourse was the revival of pain, regret and failure as he placed me on that bridge of life. Will my books help me cross into the light, or plunge me into the water and drown me?”

Image by Enrique Meseguer from Pixabay

Another of Life’s Bridges

On the bridge of life, I once more stand
Held by the deepest contemplation
Trapped by the book clasped in my hand
Worries debilitating like amputation

The tree’s become a forest of impasses
The full moon beams a silvery light of hope
My progress slows like suffocating molasses
However trifling I know I can cope

I should stand tall as my top hat
Tidy my mental suit and fight
This bridge of life is just that
A choice of left and right

Do you hear the leaves rustling
Fresh obstacles stalk near
Begone for here I am king
I will succeed without any fear

Thanks for reading my friends.

Image created by D. Denise Dianaty, Editor and Graphic Designer for the WE PAW Bloggers E-Zine

WE PAW Bloggers group is a writers forum — it is a family of writing creatives supporting one another through networking and reciprocal interaction on our journey of growth as writers.

If you enjoyed this reading, join Medium and support all the contributors you love. That’s how Medium works: our membership fee is shared with everyone we read and theirs is shared with everyone they read.

--

--

Mason Bushell
WE PAW Bloggers

A prolific author with a demon on his shoulder and a head full of characters. Meet some of them at his menagerie.