Nostalgia

Here Lies My Heart

Inspired by my childhood home

Carrie Ann Golden
WE PAW Bloggers
Published in
3 min readDec 30, 2023

--

This poem was inspired by my childhood home where the town borders around the Au Sable River of which a covered bridge span. My house was a short walk from the river and the bridge where I’d spent much of my earlier years playing and swimming.

AI generated via Microsoft Bing

HERE LIES MY HEART

There is a town nestled
In the valley, hugged by
Those majestic peaks of old

Where the water’s still clear,
And fierce against sun-baked bedrocks
Rolling, rolling under the creaky covered bridge

Here lies my heart
Where the ancient spruce forest
Whispers my name, whispers my name still

Where the warm breeze carries the songs
Of the bygone, filled with sighs of
Past hopes and dreams

There I can still hear the laughter
Of the innocence, the sweet music
Of simpler times forever gone

Here lies my heart
Where the ancient spruce forest
Whispers my name, whispers my name still

There is a place where I yearn
To return, to rest my weary soul
From the chaos and noise

Where I can finally release my
Troubles, pain to rejoin
The melody of the peaks, and fly free

Here lies my heart
Where the ancient spruce forest
Whispers my name, whispers my name still

© 11 April 2019. All rights reserved by Carrie Ann Golden

Carrie Ann Golden writes introspective essays and poetry. She’s a mountain girl living in the prairie of North Dakota on a small farmstead with her hubby and son.

She writes mainly on Medium but occasionally on her young adult blog:

Image created by D. Denise Dianaty, Editor and Graphic Designer for the WE PAW Bloggers E-Zine

Catch up with and follow our WE PAW Bloggers contributors here on Medium:

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

This e-zine is an umbrella publication for members of the Facebook group of the same name. All writers for this publication are members of the group on Facebook. WE PAW Bloggers group is a writers forum — it is a family of writing creatives supporting one another through networking and reciprocal interaction on our journey of growth as writers.

If you wish to contribute to this ezine, please join the group on Facebook. Be sure to answer all the membership questions when you apply to join. All writing creatives are welcome.

If you enjoyed this reading, join Medium and support all the contributors you love. That’s how Medium works: our membership fee is shared with everyone we read and theirs is shared with everyone they read.

D. Denise Dianaty, Editor and Graphic Designer for the WE PAW Bloggers E-Zine. Administrator for the writers forum “WE PAW Bloggers” group and its sister group “Pandora’s Box of Horrors” on Facebook. In addition to being a self-published author and poet, artist, art-photographer, and administrator of the group, “WE PAW Bloggers,” Denise is a graphic designer with 25+ years experience, predominately in print media.

--

--

Carrie Ann Golden
WE PAW Bloggers

Adirondack native writer & poet living in North Dakota. Introspector. Scrutinizer. What you see isn't always what's really there.