Meditation

David Aron Levine
Progress through sharing.
2 min readMar 12, 2018

Two times a day. Twenty minutes each.

Pausing to meditate twice a day for the last few months has been the healthiest decision I’ve made perhaps ever.

It’s hard to describe exactly why Transcendental Meditation (TM for short) has been so important in my life. Perhaps the best way to describe it is TM has helped me to heal myself.

It’s a strange thing to think that your brain can heal yourself (especially when you might not even know you need healing) but I’m pretty sure that’s what has been going on through this process. That’s what they say about it in the research: TM helps your mind become healthy enough to do what it does best — to function well.

This isn’t to say that my mind wasn’t working before. You don’t get a JD and MBA from Harvard and thrive professionally at the highest levels on Wall Street without functioning. But there were many ways that I’ve not been at my highest and best over the years and TM is helping me to move beyond those limits.

Whether the limitations that I’ve felt in “sales” from the fear of rejection or the anxiety that has sometimes plagued me in social situations, TM has helped me to get at the things underneath my everyday existence that have sometimes stood in my way.

Some of this is simply because of reflection (therapy obviously helps here too). But there is another aspect of this which I think has to do truly with the actual functioning of my brain and mind. The “wavelengths” that TM supposedly helps to regulate actually seem to be working. Or at least it feels that way.

Having a daily practice, whatever that might be for you, is highly recommended.

For me that includes writing once a day (usually publicly here on Medium), TM twice a day, prayer and time with family.

I’d encourage you to check it out if you ever have curiosity and don’t hesitate if I can help you as you explore your journey.

-DAL

--

--