Finding My Way Across the Sahara Desert …

Injured veteran reflects on lessons learned while enduring “Toughest Footrace on Earth”

Bob Woodruff Foundation
Writing for Heroes

--

By Capt. Mark Wise, U.S. Army, Ret.

Sand, sweat, and an immense expanse of desert ahead allowed for some reflection during my recent participation in the 30th Marathon des Sables (MdS) — a 250 kilometer (155 mile) footrace across the Moroccan Sahara desert where participants carry all of their food and supplies, with the exception of water, for a 6-day endurance race.

I had volunteered to participate on behalf of both the Bob Woodruff Foundation and a UK charity, Walking With the Wounded.

Walking in the oppressive heat for six days provided plenty of time to evaluate whether I had made a poor decision in selecting this event to continue advocacy of veteran rehabilitation and reintegration challenges.

By way of background, in 2009 I had the tremendous honor of being a platoon leader, leading soldiers from the 4th Infantry Division, 4th Brigade, 1–12 Infantry Regiment, during a deployment in Afghanistan. October 24, 2009 I was traumatically wounded by an IED (improvised explosive device) while on foot, immediately next to Pfc. Devin Michel, who in that same blast was killed.

Mark Wise leading his soldiers in Afghanistan.

Since my injury I have seen my role as an officer and leader transform from combat soldier to advocate. The obligation for leaders to represent troops does not cease when removed from an official position, nor does it cease upon exiting the service.

In light of this commitment to advocacy, I find myself doing what an infantryman does best: walking from point A to point B with my “home” on my back.

The desert race contained high points of gorgeous views, camaraderie, cultural immersion, as well as its own share of challenging spots with exhaustion and pain.

The largest take away I have been able to attribute to the race itself has been a series of reflection points. Not only did I see many parallels to my military service and rehabilitation experience, but I also gained insight into my return venture into the workforce with my embarking on a new career.

I’d like to highlight some of these insights I discovered while racing in the MdS.

Preparation is never perfect.

While training for the MdS I read, asked questions, looked for advice in previous participants and online forums.

Mark Wise makes his way across the Sahara Desert.

Nothing will ever truly prepare your for your particular journey but put in the effort beforehand.

In regards to the MdS I would have worn different shoes, attached my gaiters differently (shields that cover the top of your shoe to prevent sand from getting to your feet while crossing sand dunes), hiked more with a weighted backpack, and taken more and different food.

Regardless of the changes I would make, I prepared as best I thought possible, and made adjustments to prevent further injury due to my wounds from Afghanistan presenting their own requisite adaptations.

While not perfectly prepared, I was moderately comfortable and was able to successfully complete my goal of racing.

Plans Change. Adapt and overcome.

The military provided a perfect background to support this reflection for the MdS. While each day I developed a game plan for the event based on the course map and my previous experience in hiking, things happen.

My plan never lasted long into the movement, but I was able to respond to changing conditions in my physical state and the state of my gear.

This lesson from the Army and the MdS is also applicable to veteran rehabilitation and reintegration. I think back to 2009 when I was in the ICU, intubated with my body fixated and bandaged from head to toe. I had planned on the fastest recovery possible and that I would back in an infantry line unit, deployed and back in the fight.

My first goal very rapidly changed to being able to push a button that would provide me with pain relief. This first goal took over one week. A simple push of a button on a remote … one week.

Much like crossing a desert, success is measured and achieved in steps. Depending on the terrain or conditions faced, those steps can be immensely short and painstaking. Have a plan, adjust to the conditions you face, and drive on.

Life is always a team event. We all rely on others for help, be grateful for those who stop and help along the way while facing their own journey.

I'd be lying if I claimed my successful completion of the MdS or my recovery from injury were my accomplishments. Thousands of strangers have contributed again and again to my success.

To the point of tears I am humbled by how fortunate I have been to have my family’s support, and support from so many kind and generous people whom I will never know.

Along the trail in the Sahara I spoke with people from many different countries, and a simple “hello” in whatever language you fancy can go a long way.

Each evening in the Bedouin tent I relied on teammates for medical advice, repair kits, or just a friendly chat.

Teams always support success, make sure to share your victories with those who helped you achieve your goal.

Be grateful for every day. Return to family and friends to share stories of your adventure. New challenges lie ahead in many forms, so continue to grow and develop.

Upon my return from the MdS I am able to reflect on the newest change in my life, a new career. I have focused these last years on family, advocacy for veteran issues, and on my own transition out of the military.

Synthesis of the last few years will continue long past the MdS, but time alone crossing the sands did offer some quiet time away from distractions to be grateful.

Thank you to those strangers who lent a hand not knowing they were making my recovery more endurable.

Thank you to the friends who sent kind words, visited, supported my endeavors, and helped my family during my recovery.

Thank you to my family for providing the love and support to help me achieve a successful physical, mental and emotional recovery.

The U.S. alone has nearly 60,000 wounded veterans from the Iraq and Afghanistan conflicts. Many other veterans return with non-physical injuries. A crisis exists with 22 veteran suicides a day in America.

A plethora of challenges face our veteran community, and therefore a larger community at home here in the U.S. It is easy to experience veteran issue fatigue, it can be overwhelming to try and hear about reintegration issues.

I hope a new community of strangers can support the men and women who have served in the military in the same way I felt cared for through generosity and a helping hand.

Spread the word, share a story, lend an ear, or give your time, whatever you can offer — just do not allow awareness of these challenges to disappear.

The Bob Woodruff Foundation is extremely grateful to Capt. Wise for his efforts to create awareness and raise funds to help ensure that post-9/11 injured service members, veterans and their families thrive long after returning home.

--

--

Bob Woodruff Foundation
Writing for Heroes

Take a #Stand4Heroes with the Bob Woodruff Foundation to help support post-9/11 impacted veterans, service members, their families and caregivers.