VIVA News: Veteran Family Celebrates a “Little Miracle”

Bob Woodruff Foundation
Writing for Heroes
Published in
3 min readNov 18, 2020

--

When veterans face fertility challenges related to a service-connected injury or illness, the Bob Woodruff Foundation’s Veterans In-Vitro Initiative (VIVA) stands ready to support them in growing their families. VIVA collaborates with the Department of Veterans Affairs to inform veterans with service-connected fertility challenges of the various fertility benefits and services available to them. When the VA-funded program is not appropriate for a veteran, BWF’s VIVA fund provides up to $5,000 funding to eligible veterans. To date, 11 babies have been born thanks to the help of this initiative!

One of our VIVA families has given us their permission to share an exciting update. First, let’s get to know retired U.S. Army Captain James Howard:

I grew up in Lynchburg, VA a part of a large military family. My father served during the Vietnam era with the 82nd Airborne and my grandfather served with the 82nd as a gliderman during WWII. I graduated from the Virginia Military Institute in 2002 and commissioned into the Army. I had the privilege of serving 2002–2010, most of my time with the 82nd Airborne, completing Ranger, Sapper, Jumpmaster and Special Forces courses. I loved my job and the incredible individuals I had the opportunity to serve with. My spinal cord deteriorated during my military service damaging my C5-C7 vertebrae, after numerous military jumps, a couple combat injuries in Iraq (from IEDs and an RPG) and a diving accident during a swim workout.

I have always considered my quadriplegic injury as a blessing by misfortune which led me to start two all-volunteer nonprofits. I am the founder and president of REACHcycles (www.REACHcycles.org) and VAU (www.VetsAU.com) that have supported thousands of children and veterans with disabilities over the past eight years. I also work for the Christopher & Dana Reeve Foundation as the Military Veterans Program Coordinator and enjoy volunteering for other organizations such as SOCOM Care Coalition as a mentor, Quality of Life Foundation as a Family Case Manager, and Paralyzed Vets of America as a member.

It’s clear that the Howard family goes above and beyond to support veterans and children living with disabilities. We are honored that they turned to our Veterans In-Vitro Initiative. Here’s their story, in James’ own words…

My wife Amanda and I tried to have a child for a couple years with no luck. We reached out for support to see what our options might be. We were referred to Ann Philopena who was an amazing help, answering our questions and connecting us with the correct VA staff to potentially begin the in-vitro fertilization (IVF) process. About 1.5 years later, we were incredibly blessed to have a healthy baby boy, Luke Timur Howard. He is named after a close friend of mine, Luke Wullenwaber, that was killed in action in Iraq and his grandfather, Timur, who is a retired ranger Colonel. We are so thankful for Ann and all the great folks that came together to make this little miracle possible. We truly appreciate all the great support the Bob Woodruff Foundation provides so many other veterans.

From the whole Bob Woodruff Foundation team, we wish the Howard family a hearty congratulations on their “little miracle,” and send our gratitude for allowing us to share their inspiring story of resilience and continued service.

Learn more about our Veterans In-Vitro Initiative today.

--

--

Bob Woodruff Foundation
Writing for Heroes

Take a #Stand4Heroes with the Bob Woodruff Foundation to help support post-9/11 impacted veterans, service members, their families and caregivers.