11 years in recovery but always an addict

Celebrating my mom and her recovery journey

Samantha Weald
The Wealderness

--

My mom is an addict.

And not like, “drank too much at the family Christmas party” or “popped an extra Vicodin when she pulled out her back” type addict.

More like…

  • Every cupboard in our house was FULL of boxed wine.
  • We had packages with HUNDREDS of pills getting delivered every month.
  • Meth dealers and strange people CONSTANTLY knocking on the door.
  • Didn’t see her sober for a SINGLE day over 8 years.

“We don’t focus on the past…nor do we wish to shut the door on it.”

Growing up in Arizona, being raised by a single mom, I understood that it was hard but she made it look so easy. She was the mom all the other kids wanted to come on the school field trip — beautiful, fun, always willing to play a game, put a stocking on her head and chase you around the house. She was calm, kind, hardworking. Full of love.

in Arizona, sometime in the 90s ❤

So when she relapsed after we moved to California when I was in 7th grade, I didn’t want to know. I pretended like it wasn’t happening. I kept living my life (school, sports, friends) and just got more and more independent. I told…

--

--