Macro vs. Micro in Real Estate Investing

Jay Remley
Wealth Marathon
Published in
4 min readOct 2, 2018

I’ve met with many individuals interested in real estate investing who read numerous posts/articles about what markets to invest in and where to buy. They attend weekend seminars and read books on real estate investing. However, they get stuck in hearing about others success and never pull together the macro vs. micro to build wealth in real estate.

As Mark Twain said, “The Secret to Getting Ahead is Getting Started.”

I believe success in real estate investing comes down to “Macro Patience” vs. “Micro Speed”.

When I started investing in real estate over 10 yrs ago, I took a long-term view of cash flow and appreciation to generate wealth for my children vs. short-term flipping/speculation to build wealth for me. That’s not the only strategy/purpose, but that is my plan and why I do what I do. To leave my children a real estate business and in a better position to impact the world than when I started out on earth.

Whether your strategy is to invest for the next generation, or flipping for short term cash gain, or buy/hold for 3–5 yrs based on local market speculation, you need to have a Macro Patience vs. Micro Speed strategy and plan.

From a “Macro Patience” perspective, I look at three key factors to long term market growth/real estate appreciation:

1. Market Level — is the state pro-landlord or pro tenant?

2. What is the current and future population/job growth of the market?

3. Quality of Schools — strong school districts/education drive real estate appreciation and demand

When my wife and I started investing in 2006, we chose Texas and specifically the Dallas-Fort Worth (DFW) area. From a state level perspective, Texas is pro-business/landlord and population/job growth is strong. More jobs have been created in Texas between 2007–2014 than the rest of the country combined.

Where within the state is the growth occurring?

We chose North Dallas where Frisco/McKinney are among the fastest growing and best cities to live in America.

If you choose a state with strong job growth, then where are the best schools?

We chose Collin County (North Dallas) that have the strongest schools in Texas and #5 in America.

Regardless of the state/metro you choose as your target market, consider the state business environment, future population/growth, and schools as a few data points to help you identify the macro trends for long term growth. Again, at the macro level, it’s all about patience and taking a long-term view.

From a “Micro Speed” perspective, it takes a team on the ground that can execute faster than your competition (other investors/buyers).

At the micro/deal level, it’s all about speed & execution whether you are in a buyer or seller’s real estate market.

90% Of The Time, Speed Wins!

If your resources (financial and human) are ready to go, you can out execute your competition and win the deal with speed. As in investor, it comes down to the numbers and finding a good deal.

Anyone can pay market price, but those that can identify a deal, will win with great team and speed!

I have pre-approvals and lenders who know me by name, a real estate broker/agents who I talk to weekly, and send me opportunities within the market often times before they are listed on MLS.

Living in California and investing in Texas, I couldn’t execute with speed at the micro level (in DFW) without a strong local team and financial resources to outpace the competition.

I believe in patience from a macro perspective, but win the deals with speed at the micro level by having a team to help me out execute the competition.

Back to my opening statement about getting ahead with Macro vs. Micro.

My caution to you is don’t get stuck in the Macro. Again, as Mark Twain said best, “The secret to getting ahead is getting started.” Once you get started, your experience and team will improve over time and your ability to execute with greater speed will increase. Speed and experience are a billion times more important than identifying the perfect deal.

Get in the game and focus on speed, not perfection.

I’ll take a Great Team in a good market all day over a Good Team in a great market because I’ll out execute them 90% of the time!

Just my thoughts on how I think about the macro vs. micro of real estate investing and welcome your thoughts.

Note: GaryVee’s blog about speed in business inspired me to share his thoughts about patience vs. speed to my experience in real estate investing

--

--

Jay Remley
Wealth Marathon

Father & Husband first while helping others build wealth through real estate. Renter> Owner> Investor (ROI) @ www.mile27realty.com Email: jay@mile27realty.com