Meet the Maker: David Aideyan, Software Engineer

Wealthsimple
Maker Stories by Wealthsimple
4 min readFeb 9, 2022

David didn’t want to just work in tech, he wanted to build it. Here’s his journey from Associate Relationship Manager Intern to Engineer.

Our team of Wealthsimplers work collaboratively to build the best possible experience for our clients and then make it even better. Everyone is a maker and an owner. What does that mean? We take ownership of our own work. No one here is a manager that doesn’t contribute to any hands-on work. We question the status quo and when we want to update, change or fix something — we take initiative, involve others and #shipit, then improve it. Get to know the team with our Meet the Maker series.

David, you’re known as a veteran around here. Wealthsimple was founded in 2014 and you joined just two years later. How did you get started?

I originally joined Wealthsimple as an Associate Relationship Manager Intern in May 2016. Four months later, I went back to Western University to finish my last year of school. I graduated with a Business (Administration and Management) degree from Ivey Business School and immediately returned in May 2017 to support our clients as a full-time Associate Relationship Manager.

What inspired you to make the career change from Associate Relationship Manager Intern to Engineer?

Working on our US launch gave me a chance to work closely with many different teams; advice, product, and engineering. I got the opportunity to wear many different hats from client-facing, to operations, project scoping and implementation. Over the course of my first two years at Wealthsimple, I came to realize that my dream wasn’t just wanting to be in tech, it was to have a part in building the technologies at the forefront of innovation. So, I started to build a plan to make the leap.

How did you gain the skills/experience to prepare for the new role?

I took a few courses to ramp up my technical skills outside of work. I had a lot of help from engineers across the company, they outlined what I would need to learn to work with Wealthsimple’s tech stack, and gave advice about which learning modules I should focus on. Moreover, my time as a CXA helped me develop strong communication, project scoping and design thinking skills that are now so valuable to me as an engineer who builds internal tools for Wealthsimple employees.

What support did you have to grow in your career?

I wouldn’t have been able to make my transition if it weren’t for the sponsorship and coaching I received from a handful of Wealthsimplers. Long before the idea of moving to engineering was on the table, my manager (not in engineering) connected me with an engineering director who helped me brainstorm and craft a development plan to progress to doing more technical work. This connection led to many more connections and then insight into the several paths I could take at Wealthsimple. From here, it was time to create a plan and put it into action. I had backing from my team and directors in engineering, which made a world of difference. Looking back, my career development really felt like a group effort by many, as opposed to something I did alone.

What’s your favourite part about being an engineer?

My favourite part has got to be coming together with so many talented individuals to create value — each person brings a unique combination of skills and perspective to contribute to something that none of us could have created on our own. As much as I love the feeling of having a finished product or feature in hand, it’s the collaborative nature of the work that makes me feel most alive.

Wealthsimplers know that diversity and inclusion make better products. Better decisions. A better place to work for everyone. What does inclusion look like for you?

When you take a desire for oneness and add a conviction that each individual has an incredible amount of value to offer, the result is inclusion.

Here’s what that looks like within the organization: Wealthsimple’s “oneness” is exemplified in its mission to bring financial freedom to everybody. And employees contribute practical skills to further the mission, but they also contribute their perspectives shaped by lived experiences. These diverse perspectives are not just suggested, they’re expected and built right into our end product. From the recruitment structure to our policies and cultural norms, each person has a voice and we strive for inclusion.

In honour of Black History Month, do you have any words of advice for fellow Black professionals looking to enter tech?

Try to balance passion with purpose. On the passion side of things, you should always be on the lookout for that eureka moment when you stumble upon an area or endeavour that you see as being your life’s work. When it comes to purpose, it’s important to recognize and be open to opportunities that a) get you a foot in the door in a space that interests you; b) places you in the midst or people that energize and accelerate you; or c) rewards you financially. The belief in (and pursuit of) work that you love paired with the openness to work that you don’t love as much (for a purpose) is the ultimate combo.

Are you ready to make a leap in your career? Visit our “Work With Us” page to learn more and view open roles.

Wealthsimple is a new kind of financial company. Invest, trade, save, spend, and even do your taxes in a better, simpler way. “Maker Stories” is an inside look at how we get things done.

--

--

Wealthsimple
Maker Stories by Wealthsimple

We‘re a new kind of financial company. Invest, trade, save, spend, and even do your taxes in a better, simpler way.