Meet the Maker: Zee Al-Sewaidi, Sr. Software Engineer

Wealthsimple
Maker Stories by Wealthsimple
4 min readApr 21, 2022

Zee is a member of the Muslims of Wealthsimple community group and she shares why celebrating Ramadan both inside and outside of work is special.

Our team of Wealthsimplers work collaboratively to build the best possible experience for our clients and then make it even better. Everyone is a maker and an owner. What does that mean? We take ownership of our own work. No one here is a manager that doesn’t contribute to any hands-on work. We question the status quo and when we want to update, change or fix something — we take initiative, involve others and #shipit, then improve it. Get to know the team with our Meet the Maker series.

Why did you join Wealthsimple?
I’d heard a lot of great things about Wealthsimple from colleagues at my previous company; it prompted me to learn more. One of the main reasons I joined was because it’s a fintech company, and I’ve always loved and enjoyed working in payments. So, it was an easy decision.

As with any new job, you likely feel a bit nervous at first when adjusting to a new culture and environment. However, as I progressed through the interview process, it became clear Wealthsimple was my place. I met with so many kind and respectful people. And, I found it unique that the recruiter and hiring team took so much time to ensure I joined the right subset of a team that best matched my experience. Now, I’m almost four months into my role as a Senior Software Engineer on the Cash card team.

What is MOW?
MOW stands for Muslims of Wealthsimple and is a rapidly growing community. This group is a safe space for Muslims (practicing or non-practicing) to connect and discuss recent issues that might impact the greater community.

Why are community groups such as MOW important to you?
It’s a tremendous support and creates a learning experience since we have the same understanding of our religion and culture. We support each other through Ramadan by meeting once a week, talking about fasting, what we feel, sharing Muslim jokes, and talking about food and family.

We also guide new Wealthsimplers so they know the best place to pray in the office. Wealthsimple is my second home because of the MOW group. It makes me proud that our company respects all communities. This open-minded approach helps all other communities come together to support and celebrate each other.

How are you celebrating Ramadan this year?
I celebrate Ramadan with my family, friends, and of course my colleagues. We usually fast from sunrise to sunset, which means no food or water. I spend my time praying Taraweeh prayers (evening prayers), reading the Quran, and helping people through acts of charity within the community.

What does Ramadan mean to you?
Ramadan is my favourite month of the Islamic year. In addition to being the month of spiritual reflection, self-improvement, and heightened devotion and worship, it’s also a time to celebrate with family and friends. Everyone comes together for Iftar (breaking fast at sunset), and we all have a good time together!

How has your team supported you through Ramadan?
This is such a special time for me, and I’m grateful I can celebrate wholly both at work and outside of work. My colleagues are interested and supportive, which makes me feel genuinely included.

What meant a lot to me was that my team sent me Ramadan greetings! In addition, they frequently asked me if I’m doing ok and if a change in schedule was needed. My team is very accommodating.

At Wealthsimple we demand diversity, create inclusion. How would you describe inclusion?
I would describe inclusion as being able to share my views and thoughts without being judged or feeling different because of my gender or faith. People should believe and respect everyone’s life experiences and offer support — I feel lucky to have that support from Wealthsimplers. I know that who I am and my work is appreciated here.

If you want to learn more about Ramadan our Muslims of Wealthsimple community recommends this resource.

Are you looking to find a sense of community within your workplace? Visit our “Work With Us” page to learn more and view open roles.

Wealthsimple is a new kind of financial company. Invest, trade, save, spend, and even do your taxes in a better, simpler way. “Maker Stories” is an inside look at how we get things done.

--

--

Wealthsimple
Maker Stories by Wealthsimple

We‘re a new kind of financial company. Invest, trade, save, spend, and even do your taxes in a better, simpler way.