Meet the Maker: Zhané Stimpson, Associate, Youth Engagement — Wealthsimple Foundation

Wealthsimple
Maker Stories by Wealthsimple
4 min readJun 29, 2023

Zhané is a co-lead of Rainbow, an action-and impact-driven 2SLGBTQ2IA+ employee resource group which allows her/they to bring her/their truest self to work every day.

Our team of Wealthsimplers work collaboratively to build the best possible experience for our clients. Everyone is a maker and an owner. What does that mean? We take ownership of our own work. Each one of us contributes to hands-on work, no matter their title. We question the status quo and when we want to update, change or fix something — we take initiative, involve others and #shipit, then improve it. Get to know the team with our Meet the Maker series.

Why did you join Wealthsimple?
So many reasons! I love the brand and products and have been a client since 2021, but it was the people and values that really pushed me to join. A friend put me in touch with the CEO of the Wealthsimple Foundation, Leen Li, and I immediately felt so connected to the company’s leadership and the values and goals of the Foundation. Enabling access to post-secondary education for youth across the country is something I’m super passionate about. And I’ve wanted to be part of the solution for a long time, so when I saw there was a position available I jumped at the opportunity to apply.

What is Rainbow @ Wealthsimple?
Rainbow, to me, is visibility. We always hear how important representation is and having an employee resource group like Rainbow allows us to share what’s important to our community on a large scale. It’s the group I can go to when I’m stuck on a task and need advice, and the people with whom I can be most authentic.

I’m grateful Rainbow exists because I’ve worked at places without ERGs, and the difference in company culture is stark. There’s a true feeling of acceptance at Wealthsimple — I can be open about my sexuality and my team is always willing to learn about my lived experience. Our HR policies are also inclusive of 2SLGBTQ2IA+ folks and their partners, which lets me know that our inclusivity extends far beyond the work we do with Rainbow. The bar has truly been set for me.

What initiatives were you most excited to lead at Rainbow for Pride Month?
I recently joined Rainbow as a co-lead and was particularly excited about our Kickoff party where we saw people in the community and our allies have fun, dance and enjoy good food.

Moving beyond Pride Month, I’m excited to keep bringing the community together through continued conversation, educational events, meetups and more. When I first met with the other co-leads of Rainbow, there was a big emphasis on celebrating the diversity within our group and the Queer Space as a whole. The goal was to highlight and amplify Queer voices as well as to educate our allies on the 2SLGBTQ2IA+ Community. Throughout the year we’re planning many more events for our internal community, but also for those outside of Rainbow, such as chats around the 2Spirit Identity, educational game nights and a Wealthsimple favourite: the Halloween party! We want to make sure that Pride isn’t set to just the month of June, but highlighted 365 days of the year.

As this employee resource group (ERG) continues to grow, what aspirations do you have for Rainbow?
I would love for Rainbow to extend outside of Wealthsimple. I want us to host more community events, mentoring opportunities, and socials. My ultimate aspiration for Rainbow, however, is to create a member experience that lasts a lifetime where folks create meaningful friendships and relationships along the way.

What is one thing you want people to take away or learn this Pride Month?This Pride Month I’m focusing on cultivating community and reminding myself not to be afraid to rely on it. I’ve been trying to unlearn the practice of comparing myself to others recently. It’s something I know many people struggle with and I think Pride Month is one of those times each year where we’re reminded of the importance of community and how much it can help. I would love for people to really embrace this mindset and focus on raising others up instead of viewing them as competition or tearing them down. I’ve found going to events, connecting with new people and taking time to learn about others’ journeys with an open mind helps and I encourage others to do the same not only this month, but throughout the entire year.

To learn more about how Wealthsimple creates an inclusive culture, read our Culture Manual.

Are you looking to find a sense of community within your workplace? Visit our “Work With Us” page to learn more and view open roles.

Wealthsimple is a new kind of financial company. Invest, trade, save, spend, and even do your taxes in a better, simpler way. “Maker Stories” is an inside look at how we get things done.

--

--

Wealthsimple
Maker Stories by Wealthsimple

We‘re a new kind of financial company. Invest, trade, save, spend, and even do your taxes in a better, simpler way.