Audrey Akande from The Receipts Podcast on being the first WOC to top the Apple Podcast chart.

Amber Wilson
WeAreDivInc
Published in
3 min readDec 19, 2018
Audrey Akande

Audrey Akande is one of the lead podcast hosts for The Receipts Podcast, a fun and honest podcast where no topic is shied away from! She hosts the show alongside her two friends: Milena Sanchez and Tolani Shoneye.

The Receipt Podcast girls have featured on the BBC Radio 1Xtra show numerous times interviewing high profile stars such as British Hip-Hop rapper Yxng Bane, Love Island’s favourite Jack Fowler (aka OluwaJack), and Britsh actor and playright Arinze Kene! How awesome is that!!!

We see that work done by underrepresented females and Women of Colour can largely be overlooked, which is why we were so glad that we got to catch up with Audrey to hear more about her journey, highs and lows of her career so far and what she enjoys about being a podcast presenter!

DivInc- Tell us a little about your childhood and growing up days. Where were you born, your family and schooling?

Audrey- I grew up in Essex and went to a strict catholic school, I’m the eldest of three so I’d describe myself as a guinea pig because I had to set the path for my brother and sister. I was definitely a geek haha.

What influenced you to venture into podcast production? Was it something you’ve always aspired to do?

It was a total accident, podcasting wasn’t something I set out to do at all, the opportunity presented itself and I took it. I’d definitely say it’s the best accident that’s ever happened to me.

What has been the most rewarding moment in your career so far?

I think being the first WOC podcast to get to number 1 on the Apple podcast charts, it’s the only way to measure how well a show does so the fact we’ve been able to achieve this is everything.

The Receipts Podcast at number 1 on the Apple Podcasts chart

What has been your favourite podcast show to host, and why?

There’s been so many I really loved the episode with BBC 1xtras’ Dotty, Jackie Aina and the episodes where we take trips down memory lane and reminisce about our childhoods and teenage years.

What advice would you give to young students coming up that have just started sharing their work online?

Number 1 thing is to be consistent, consistency is definitely key. Make sure your content is well executed and keep pushing you won’t get results over night. But with continuous hard work and dedication you will be successful and achieve your desired results!

What is your favourite aspect of your job, and why?

I love that I get to do the podcast with my two friends, we didn’t know each other when we first started now I’d consider the girl’s family, I also love the fact that we can make people laugh every week.

--

--