Our tribe, the secret sauce to our growth!

Jay Richards
WeAreDivInc
Published in
2 min readApr 1, 2019

People often ask me, “how have you been able to grow your revenue and impact by 900% from last year to this year?”

I wish I had an equation that would dumbfound and excite everyone, but the secret sauce, the trick up my sleeve, is my tribe.

“Who’s your tribe?” I hear you shout, well I’ve read a gizillion books (I think it’s definitely a gizillion, yes gizillion is a number) on building a team or having amazing culture and they all say conflicting things like “Your team should be a family!” or “Your team definitely shouldn’t be a family, they should be a high performing sports team!”

If I’m honest, I agree with both, so we landed somewhere in the middle!

We’re a tribe, we come together for a certain time, to accomplish our mission and we keep each other accountable to keep that mission on track.

Our tribe is 4 people deep, we don’t really have much in common but we have a passion for underestimated young people and to provide a great opportunity for our clients to access and impact Gen Z!

Let me tell you more about these awesome people!

Jo was our first tribe member, Jo is our Head of Operations and she is a machine! I’ve never met anyone that everyone likes, until I met Jo. She’s got an insanely friendly and disarming Northern accent that teachers and basically everyone loves. Bringing Jo onboard completely changed the game and enabled us to scale our impact across the UK.

Stephanie loves numbers, as our Finance Officer she spends her days telling me that I can’t buy something because “It’s not needed for the mission!” which sucks at the time but is super helpful in the long run! Her focus on even the tiniest of things means that we can stay on top of everything at all times.

Sam is our latest tribe member to join, he genuinely loves awesome content, I’m talking he’s so into it that it makes me excited about content! Sam came onboard to completely revamp our socials so we and our clients can authentically engage our Gen Z audiences with amazing content.

I’ve learnt on this crazy ass journey that your tribe being engaged and excited about your mission is more important than anything else. I’m still learning but I know that carefully selecting our tribe is crucial for our culture and our growth!

All in all, our tribe is the greatest, we’re growing as a startup and our tribe will grow too!

Bring it on!

--

--

Jay Richards
WeAreDivInc

Jay is the CEO of DivInc, he is passionate about helping the underestimated to launch their own startups and gain investment!