Startup life, it’s war!

Jay Richards
WeAreDivInc
Published in
2 min readMar 26, 2019

You spend your days putting out fires, dodging bullets and trying to keep your team alive.

That’s what it feels like to run a startup, it’s not all panels and podcast interviews. It’s mainly stress, late nights and dark circles under your eyes.

Don’t get me wrong, I love every moment of changing lives and helping our clients to access and impact underestimated Gen Z young people but the hustle can take its toll!

The last two years have been unbelievable, many highs and lows but one thing I learnt pretty quickly is that I can’t do this journey on my own!

It’s hard to see the road ahead while you’re in the trenches, all you can hear is grenades and screams of dying startups. I am part of a community called the 10x10 (or the black illuminati as some of us call it), it’s a group of young black founders, some who have lots of customers, raised huge amounts of capital and others who are just starting out.

This is my support network, they’re there when I have no idea which direction to turn, they’ve helped me in some of my darkest moments. Guys like William Adoasi of Vitae London, Cle Hunnigan of Wind Collective and Andy Davis of Backstage Capital have been there in those dark nights to pick me up, place my weapon in my hand and keep me moving forward on our mission.

I am thankful for my community and I encourage you to surround yourself with a community too, it makes this hustle much more bearable and you’ll definitely be more successful!

--

--

Jay Richards
WeAreDivInc

Jay is the CEO of DivInc, he is passionate about helping the underestimated to launch their own startups and gain investment!