My Home Is Your Home

WeAreELIC
WeAreELIC
Published in
2 min readFeb 11, 2015

By Iris Lamm : English Teacher with ELIC in Phnom Pen, Phnum Penh, Cambodia

For the last two months, I taught a once a week pronunciation class for two hours at the Student Center every Tuesday. I started with ten students, then fifteen, then four, and maybe seven. Since it was an open exit and open entry class, students dropped by as they pleased. Though it ends up being quite unpredictable and challenging when I wanted to plan structured group activities, it allowed me to touch base with more students than in a typical classroom of students. It was also great not having to give exams and convince my students they should study. Rather, since it was a free class, students only came if they wanted to learn.

When the Christmas season came along, I decided to invite my class of ten or sometimes, five, to my house. My friends sent me a box of goodies the week before that worked perfectly with what I was planning to do!

My Home Is Your Home By Iris Lamm - ELIC

MAKING COOKIES. The two boys are probably the tallest Khmer boys I have ever met. Aside from that, they are also great at making cookies. These four stirred up a batch of sugar cookies and enjoyed decorating them.

UNO: Jake teaches this same group of students another time in the week. He dropped by and taught the students how to play UNO and eat cookies.

SNOWFLAKES: That’s probably one thing I am good at and therefore always teach at a Christmas party. They also decorated snowflake ornaments my friends sent me from the States. It’s always great getting to have students come over to just hangout. The snowflake collection on my living room wall is growing at a rapid pace.

More about teaching in Asia.

ELIC

ELIC places passionately committed people in teaching roles across Asia, who primarily serve through the medium of English instruction. www.ELIC.org While we are focused primarily on university campuses and teacher training, we teach in a variety of other settings designed to best serve our host countries and government entities. In the last 30 years, more than 12,000 ELIC teachers have been placed and have taught an estimated 1,300,000 Chinese students. We have vibrant programs for college students, graduates, singles, couples, families and second-career adults. Our present countries of service include China, Mongolia, Laos, Vietnam, Cambodia and Myanmar.

[vfb id=2]

--

--