From Yoga to MOVA

Katy Hooks
MOVA
Published in
2 min readNov 20, 2017

Twelve years ago, I would have told you that I would always be a yoga practitioner. Nothing else. Just yoga. I didn’t need strength training, cardio, or anything else that existed outside of a yoga studio.

Six years ago, still a yoga practitioner but in constant pain, I tried to hold on to that same ideal. I didn’t need anything but yoga. I had completed my first teacher training course, was in preparation for my second, and was committed to teaching therapeutic yoga for my career path. But for reasons I couldn’t understand at the time, I suffered a lot of injuries. It didn’t make sense, because I paid great attention to my alignment in class, but I continued to press on as usual, hoping my physical issues would resolve themselves.

And then finally, two years ago, after having gone through multiple physical rehabilitation programs for various injuries to my spine and hips, I decided enough was enough. I was ready for a change. During my final rehabilitation process with a new physical therapist, I realized his methods were vastly different than anything I had experienced before. He told me he was utilizing FRC®, or Functional Range Conditioning®, and he recommended I look into it.

FRC®, I came to discover, is a research-based training system for mobility and joint health. It is a thought process that considers how individuals move, and it provides a roadmap to understand what could be holding people back from moving better. FRC® focuses on developing usable ranges of motion, increasing body control, and making movements happen more safely and efficiently. All of this is to help mitigate risk of injury and to keep people’s joints healthy throughout their lifespan.

Needless to say, I realized very quickly that this information was what was missing from my own movement practice, so I signed up for the next FRC® training. Within just the first day I realized its true potency, so I immediately enrolled for their group mobility course (Kinstretch®) and their mobility assessment seminar (Functional Range Assessment®), and my understanding of human movement skyrocketed.

I am still a yoga practitioner and teacher (and always will be), but my style and focus is now modeled by a greater understanding of human biomechanics and physiology. I have learned how to individualize movement practices so that people can get exactly what they need, no matter if it’s a class setting or a private session.

So when my friend and colleague, Mark, invited me to start a company to help people in the workplace move better, I was ecstatic. Considering how much FRC® and Kinstretch® have enhanced my own life, I couldn’t think of a better way to support other people.

MOVA is our way of educating people how to incorporate healthy movement in the workplace. But more than that, it’s an education that will improve how people do everything they love, better than they’ve ever done before.

--

--

Katy Hooks
MOVA
Editor for

Yoga & mobility teacher. Co-founder of MOVA. Wife, cat mom, and life adventurer. Loves to write, inspire, and teach people how to move and live more freely.