Balancing Passions — Writing, Music and Computer Science

Sinch
Sinch Blog
Published in
4 min readOct 24, 2023

Hi there, I’m Raphael Samaniego and I’m a senior artificial intelligence analyst at Sinch.

It’s fascinating to see how the seemingly unrelated aspects of our lives can intermingle and contribute to personal and professional growth.

I spent a significant portion of my life writing without anyone knowing about it. It wasn’t something I readily shared, perhaps out of a hint of shyness. However, I always aspired to create something more substantial, like organizing my writings into a book. Once I opened my writing, I discovered a fascinating aspect of people’s lives. Many of us have hidden talents and creative pursuits that we don’t readily disclose. For instance, during the launch of my book, I learned that one of my computer science professors was a secret poet who wrote under a pseudonym. I’d have never known had I not taken the initiative to share my own writing.

It was an eye-opener and made me realize that everyone has a bit of an artist within them. People express themselves in various ways, and it’s an incredible journey to uncover these hidden talents. My curiosity led me to explore where my own writing journey began and how it evolved over the years.

For me, writing was always a natural inclination. I cherished the process of converting an idea into a written piece, whether it was fiction or non-fiction. It was during my master’s program that I rekindled my writing habit, this time exploring ideas, feelings, and situations expressed artistically in the form of poetry.

I can’t pinpoint exactly why this urge to write poetry emerged; it just felt like a natural progression. I started writing casually, jotting down a bit every day, and eventually noticed patterns in my work. These patterns gave me the idea to compile everything into a book published in 2023. This book called “Tempestade” or “Storm” in English, and it’s all about my art of self-expression.

Writing is a part of me, and it serves as an outlet for creativity and self-expression. It’s not just a hobby; it’s a passion.

One might wonder how I managed to incorporate writing into a busy academic schedule, especially during my master’s program and working in a tech company also. For me, the answer lies in a few key principles:

  1. Breaking down: I’ve always believed in breaking down larger tasks into smaller, manageable parts. It’s a strategy I’ve borrowed from my computer science background, where complex problems are divided into simpler components.
  2. Prioritize your hobbies: Hobbies, I believe, offer a unique form of entertainment. They are more productive than passive entertainment because they involve both creation and learning. Engaging in hobbies helps us develop new skills, connect with like-minded individuals, and produce something meaningful.

It’s about more than just having fun; it’s about personal growth.

One curious fact is that my writing journey doesn’t exist in isolation; it’s intertwined with my other hobbies, particularly music. While writing is my primary creative outlet, music serves as another channel for my self-expression. I dabble in various instruments and find immense joy in composing, arranging, and producing music.

Hobbies provide an opportunity to learn, create, and connect. They allow us to engage with our passions in a way that feels productive and enriching. For me, music serves as a creative outlet, a means to express emotions and stories through melodies and harmonies.

The experience of writing and playing music also brings me into contact with a diverse range of people. Through events, like book launches or music performances, I’ve had the chance to connect with fellow writers and musicians in São Carlos. These interactions have expanded my horizons and introduced me to a supportive community of artists. For example, I have just started a new project with other writers, an Instagram account dedicated to short pieces of literary text (@contextavel). In essence, hobbies not only offer personal enjoyment but also create opportunities for networking and forming meaningful connections.

In the end what I can say is that a range of hobbies ensures that we’re not solely consumed by work or any one aspect of our life. It’s about taking time to enjoy various forms of entertainment, from watching TV to playing music. Engaging in hobbies helps us recharge and approach work with renewed vigor.

Interested to learn more about Sinch and perhaps become a part of our team? Check out our Careers page!

--

--

Sinch
Sinch Blog

Follow us to stay connected to our minds and stories about technology and culture written by Sinchers! medium.com/wearesinch