NFTs, Animated NFTs, Generative NFTs

A Few Valuable Lessons About *Animated* NFTs, Just in Case You’re Thinking About Doing Them

Some advice on various setups and considerations.

This is (or soon will be) ID #1310 from my GlitchDeck project, which went to public mint earlier today. I’ve mentioned the project before, so I won’t shill it too much here. Instead, I’d like to talk about GIFs and the various problems they present to artists and collectors.

You know, way, way back in early 2021 (ancient NFT times) when I was first discovering and learning about NFTs, I actually started out by making some animated GIFs and popping them onto OpenSea. So, it’s funny to me that here I am two years later and I’m back to doing animated GIFs once again. (And, yes, I still make generative PNGs like I always did. Normal PFPs are actually my specialty, and I expect I’ll be doing those for clients for a good long while yet.)

Why GIFs? Or… Why Animations?

Simply, I find them potentially more eye-catching than many static images. They’re more difficult to make, of course, and so there are generally fewer of them on any social timelines than regular graphics. And so, from a marketing perspective as well, it makes sense to look at animations for NFTs. It’s tough out there, you know? So, why not stand out if you’re able to.

But they’re not without problems. And I’m not even talking about the challenges in making them. GIFs take work (and, when you’re doing them generatively like I did, they take a TON of work). But no, I’m talking…

--

--