NFTs, Generative NFTs, NFT Collectibles

Generative Coder’s Take: Politics Aside, the Donald Trump NFT Drop Was Remarkably Poorly Designed

It’s a shame that such a high-profile set lacked any and all imagination when it came to design. A low-effort failure in the generative NFT world.

Not a lot of variety there, eh? (Admittedly, this view is filtered to show the same background. But still, they’re all so very similar.)

When I first heard that Donald Trump had released a generative NFT drop, I thought it was a joke. But then I saw the video of him shilling the thing, and immediately went to OpenSea to have a look at the NFTs. His collection lives here.

As my blog is about generative NFTs (art/design, teambuilding, execution, smart contracts, etc.), I’m not going to get into any politics here. But I do think this set provides what I’d call a “teachable moment” in the art of producing generative NFT sets.

If you’ve read my past articles, which cover just about every imaginable aspect of NFT set design, one of the common questions I get is: “How many traits are needed in a generative NFT set?” I answered that question at length here, and I’ll save you the trouble of looking: My answer was “around 200.”

But that answer took a few things into consideration:

  • First, it was meant as a bottom limit. I do think you can “get away” with less than 200 traits for a 10k set…

--

--