NFTs, Programming, Generative Art Coding

How Generative NFT Sets Can Implement “Degrees of Separation” for Maximum Uniqueness and Variety

A bit advanced, but this concept can improve the diversity of some generative NFT sets — especially smaller ones!

Photo by Anoir Chafik on Unsplash

One of the advantages I’ve always enjoyed about using my own proprietary generative art system is that I have complete control over so many aspects of a generative coding process that others simply don’t have, cannot figure out, or maybe haven’t even thought of. I’ve been steadily improving my system for more than a year now, and it’s got so many helpful bells and whistles!

Yesterday I explained what happened when an NFT drop failed to properly check for uniqueness as it generated images. Today I thought I’d take things a step further and share some thoughts about improved uniqueness in generative PFP projects.

You know, especially for 10k sets with fewer traits (say, less than 150), some of the images can tend to seem highly similar. Imagine you have the following two dogs generated:

  • a white, fluffy dog, on a blue background, with a red t-shirt, a green hat, and a red collar; and
  • a white, fluffy dog, on a blue background, with a red t-shirt, a green hat, and a blue collar; and

--

--