NFTs, Marketing Ideas, Hawk Tuah Meme

How the “Hawk Tuah” Girl Can Easily Earn $1.5 to $3 Million USD via Generative NFTs

And really kickstart her career to boot!

A hawk image courtesy of Midjourney AI. My prompt asked for the hawk to be spitting, but I guess Midjourney ignored that part. Still, not a bad hawk. :-)

Wow, the “Hawk Tuah” girl (actual name Hailey Welch) is everywhere this week after a mega viral video in which she made some risque jokes. I’m sure you’ve seen it; it’s been everywhere on the timeline lately. (If not, I believe this is the original video on Youtube. She utters her catch phrase around 10 minutes in.)

With a little poking around, I found her de facto manager (I guess) and dropped him a line with an idea on raising $1.5 to $3 million USD for Hailey to kickstart her career. I have no idea if the message will reach the person, or whether he’ll read it.

That’s always the trick for me, though. Here I am with all of the tech and experience to get a project like this done for someone newly viral. But, by the time someone’s newly viral, it’s almost impossible to reach them. That and, while my ideas are about raising funds for them, I still have to pitch the idea to them and, when you’re truly viral, you probably have 500 people pitching things at you.

I’ve done this before, a few times — pitching ideas at people who are/were really hot for a while. This tactic almost turned into a project one time, but the person’s lawyer didn’t like my contract (not that my contract is unreasonable or anything, but when you start talking about literally millions of dollars, lawyers can’t always agree on things). Sadly, that person lost out on probably $1 million.

The Trick to Virality

Here’s the thing: As Warhol famously said, the average person might enjoy “15 minutes” of fame, right? What’s hot today gets forgotten quickly, as the world’s attention moves on to the next thing. I was viral myself for a bit, and while I indeed capitalized on it, I know looking back that I could have done better with it.

So, you really have to strike while the iron is hot. That’s the bottom line for things like this. At least for generative NFT sets anyway. (If you’re new to Generative NFTs, I’ll explain them below.)

The “Hawk Tuah” girl is about as perfectly positioned for a generative NFT set than almost anyone I can think of in recent times, arguably even moreso than, say, the “That MFer is not real” girl (Tiffany Gomas) from almost a year ago (early July 2023). I say that because the kind of people who buy NFTs are the same kind of people who’ll truly apprecdiate Welch’s wickedly raunchy and quick sense of humor.

It’s inevitable that she’ll gain a significant following once people figure out where she is online (Insta, Twitter, etc.). But for really capitalizing on this new fame and kickstarting her career, I’d argue that a generative NFT set would be perfect.

Generative NFT Plan for Hailey Welch

To begin, what is a generative NFT set? Well, very briefly, it’s where we create 10,000 unique art pieces. This is done by mixing up backgrounds, bodies, faces, clothing, and other “traits” into unique images. (The home page of my website at GenerativeNFTs.io explains this in detail.)

For the imagery for Hailey, I happen to have a pretty amazing initial idea that I won’t share just yet. A few years ago, an artist friend and I began work on something that involved birds. We nearly finished it, actually, but the NFT market cooled down back then, so we shelved it. But, briefly… a “hawk” is a bird. So, I think we could tie all of that together for her into a really fun set. (Or, of course, we could start anew with 100% fresh art specific to her.)

How Is It $1.5 to $3 Million USD?

Broadly speaking, it works like this… If we generate 10,000 NFTs and sell them for a price of 0.05 ETH each (specifically chosen by me as the lowest price I’d recommend for this), then here’s the math:

  • Price each: about $168 right now (ETH at $3,363 today);
  • Gross sale: 500 ETH, which is approximately $1.68 million USD today

On the higher end, one could arguably double that ($337 each and $3.3 million gross). But, without any utility other than pure collectibility, I’m not sure how much one might want to push things.

Those new to NFTs might scoff: “Is the market really there? Would we really sell 10,000 NFTs at $168 each?”

My answer: Yes, I believe so, 100%. I think it’d be a easy sell at 0.05, and likely doable at 0.1.

As for utility, the possibilities are wide open there, too. At a minimum, you have the “no utility” option — meaning, they’re simply digital collectibles.

There’s also the implied utility that, with this funding, collectors are providing Welch with the funds to establish her brand and truly take off — for example if she wants to reinvent herself as a personality and do appearances, do a tour on the standup circuit, or whatever.

And, of course, there’s the utility of providing fans with a means of grouping together and showing support, interacting, and joking around together — a bringing together of a community, in other words.

I’ve done this now about 30 times. Back in 2021 and 2022 it was never easy, but it was significantly easier back then to pull off a huge success in this weird niche of the crypto world. After 2022, you really needed some serious marketing momentum to make these things work, and thousands of projects simply fizzled out (including many I was a part of).

With virality, though, it’s still definitely very doable. So, I do hope my message gets through and we can work on bringing a project to life asap. I know it’d be a real crazy time.

Jim Dee is a prolific writer, developer, and multi-media creator from Portland. You can find him, his businesses, his books, and more at JPD3.com. Thanks for reading! Cat image here courtesy of Midjourney AI.

--

--