Web Maker 3.0 is here!

kushagra gour
Web Maker
Published in
3 min readFeb 13, 2018

After working for months, 164 commits later, I am really excited to bring to you — Web Maker 3.0! 😍 https://webmakerapp.com

Without much delay, let me take you right inside what exactly is Web Maker 3.0.

No more just for Chrome! 🌎

The Web isn’t just Chrome and so is not Web Maker, anymore. It is now also available as a web app that runs offline just like the extension! This means that now you can use Web Maker on any modern browser (tested with Chrome and Firefox currently). Firefox users, I heard ya :)

With the web app, you also have no restriction of loading JavaScript from listed domains — load any JavaScript you want.

Head over to the Web App ->

User accounts 👦🏾👧🏻

The much requested “user accounts” are here. Now maintain your account and store all your creations in the cloud and access them anywhere anytime.

Social accounts available for login

Note: The Chrome extension is still to get updated to 3.0 and get all the above mentioned features. That will happen really soon in coming days. Meanwhile 3.0 is available on the Web App only.

A new layout mode

Do you work on a widescreen monitor with ample width? This new layout mode aligns all the panes and preview vertically to give you enough room and visibility.

Vertically aligned panes in new layout mode

Documentation

To help you get started and guide on every usability aspect of Web Maker, we now have a dedicated documentation page:

This is still a work in progress and there are many things I need to put in there. But something better than nothing at all :)

Lots of code refactor

This release also involved lots of code refactor to make this more manageable. I am super happy I still don’t have to use a JavaScript framework! Yes, Web Maker is all vanilla CSS and JS. Though for code building I bought in Gulp.

Lots of hard work has went into this release and I am really glad I can finally put this in your hands. This brings me to the final announcement.

My Patreon campaign

To act as a channel of motivation for me to work on open-source and free side projects like Web Maker, I have launched a Patreon campaign. Your pledge, no matter how small, will act as an appreciation towards my work and keep me going forward making more such useful projects🔥.

Pledge on Patreon

Hope you like all the updates in 3.0! If you do, share the love.

I am on twitter @chinchang457 and Web Maker @webmakerapp.

--

--

kushagra gour
Web Maker

Indie Maker. Made @css_battle ❯ @webmakerApp ❯ @hint_css ❯ @tolksio ❯ @prototypapp. ex Wingify