5 ways to save time managing 30+ Joomla websites

Nathan Todd
2 min readOct 22, 2015

--

Some one-click features that have saved me a lot of time hosting and managing multiple Joomla websites for clients.

When I started out building Joomla websites a few years back, I used a web host with cpanel and Softaculous to manage websites for clients.

Every new client would mean creating a new hosting account, setting up a new Joomla installation, creating passwords and FTP accounts, then finally getting round to actually building the website.

I personally use Cloudaccess now which has really good tools for managing lots of Joomla and Wordpress websites at the same time. I’ve also heard Siteground is a good option and they’ve taken over from Cloudaccess recently as the official demo and Joomla.com host.

I’ve been managing Joomla websites for clients for some time and don’t know where I’d be without these time saving features.

1. One click logins

Gone are the days of remembering admin passwords, or using one (insecure) password for multiple clients.

A big time-saver has been setting up a system to get straight into the admin panel of any of our clients websites within seconds.

2. One click backups

Before adding a new extension or doing a major update, it’s always advisable to do a full backup.

Having the ability to do this in one click saves a ton of time.

3. One click restores

Having a backup is all very well, but what’s a real time saver is when you actually need to revert back to one — a one click restore saves so much time.

4. One click Joomla & hosting purchase

When on-boarding new clients, I love to be able to create a new ‘instance’ of Joomla and add the domain name in later.

Ok, sometimes this takes more than one click to select the right options (Joomla or Wordpress, Monthly or Annual billing etc) but it’s really pretty easy compared to doing it manually.

5. One click site replication & copying

I keep a pre-configured Joomla site with the extensions and settings I usually use. With one click I can deploy a copy of this and start building with about an hours manual configuration already done.

Any other tips to make managing multiple Joomla websites easier?

Let’s get more efficient — please do share your ideas.

--

--

Nathan Todd

Marketing great messages and stories. I also make films.