WeBill Dev Deep Dive — Ashley Ngoetjana

Marcel Schmidt
WeBill
Published in
2 min readSep 27, 2019

Every week we will place one of our team in the spot light and get to know them a little bit better. This week we sat down with Ashley, front end mobile developer in the house!

Where were you born and where did you grow up?

I was born on Mokopane, Mokopane is the township just before Polokwane. I was born there. I was raised there. I went to primary school there as well. I was born in Limpopo basically.

What was the first job you can remember you ever wanted to do?

I wanted to be an architect. I tried that. Didn’t go so well and here I am.

When did you realise that you wanted to be a developer?

That was in grade eleven. I liked playing on the computer a lot and got bored of moving folders and creating stuff with paint. I wanted to take computers and see what is possible. I wanted to start creating apps.

What is your favourite Dev Tool?

Github because it is free and connects a lot of developers. You can learn and improve your coding by looking at other developer’s code and how it is written & structured.

How does being a developer and being in a relationship go together?

It has it’s challenges. I spend a lot of time coding and trying to improve my coding abilities.

You are known as the posh one in the office? What are some of your favourite clothing brands/stores.

I don’t like to go to stores. I prefer shopping online. Favourite online store would be Superbalist. Sometimes Takalot. My favourite brand is Adidas. And I like white shirts a lot.

Do you game? What is your favourite game?

I used to. Haven’t played on my console in about 2 months. My favourite game franchise is Far Cry.

Do you play sport and what?

I used to play soccer and basketball in high school and some social five-a-side on Sundays.

Your favourite app on your home screen?

Whatsapp.

If you weren’t developing what would you be doing?

I would probably be an architect. lol!

--

--