How did I lose my Accordion

Viktor “Why?!” Jakobsen
WebsitesHate.me
Published in
2 min readJun 15, 2017

It happened long time ago and I have nearly forgotten the story. But every time I pay my telephone bill it somehow springs back to my mind.

I was 19 years younger at the time and I was attending a music school. My parents forced me but also, it is not a bad thing to know to play some musical instrument. So I picked organ (yes, precisely, the big thing you find in church). But they did not like the idea very much… maybe because they did not know how it would fit in to my room :D

So I started to play the accordion.

Accordion vs. Internet 0:1

In 1998, the Internet ran via fixed dial-up line with a modem, at “dizzying” 56Kbps. However, the real speed never climbed above 28Kbps. These were slooooow times which generation of today’s 30somethings hardly remebers and generation of 20’s has never even experienced.

These days the current internet speed can be at 10–15/1 Mb/s (download/ upload). Somewhere it is even possible reach up to 1 GB/s without too much trouble.

In spite of the speed, the price for the Internet was quite different then as well. Mega high. Every minute was charged for and something like a flat rate did not exist. So one nice day I received a phone and internet bill worth of 1 month salary. The worst thing about it was that I did not have the money and I had to get it from somewhere. There was no other way but to sell my beloved hated musical instrument so I could pay that invoice.

And so I lost my accordion.

--

--

Viktor “Why?!” Jakobsen
WebsitesHate.me

Hi, I’m Viktor and I’m trying to sniff out the best website building solution. I like websites but unfortunately websites hate me…