Why have I started looking into Cloud-based web development platforms (cloud-based what?!)?

Viktor “Why?!” Jakobsen
WebsitesHate.me
Published in
3 min readMay 22, 2017

I need a website, but I decided to avoid WordPress. I worked with WordPress for years and it’s been enough ;) It is true that you can “abuse” it practically for anything… for a blog, for a company presentation website, portfolio, e-shop… But on the other side, it often doesn’t look natural and it feels way too complicated. Millions of settings, unfortunate wp-admin, all sorts of different page builders specific to particular WordPress theme and the developer… Who the hell is to understand it?

That’s why I started searching for an alternative platform. Something that is more simple, transparent, much faster; and without the neverending fiddling with web hosting setup for every website!!! A friend of mine recommended Wix. It’s supposed to be great, as you can create a website by simple click and drag. I did hear about Wix before so I decided to google it and find more info.

Spoiler alert: I did find plenty of online web builders

I googled that Wix is a development platform that lets even non-programmers to create websites. No coding needed. Ok, that sounds quite interesting. Furthermore, my website will be saved in the cloud. That sounds even better! At least I will get rid off the hosting providers, yes!

But I can’t stop my research with Wix only, there must be some competition that’s worth to be checked out… I managed to find other DIY tools for website creation like SquareSpace, Weebly, Dunked, Shopify, Webnode, Rainmaker Platform… at the end of my searching process there was more of these than I was even willing to try out… The common feature of (almost) all cloud solutions for online website creation is the availability of a trial version. This is a must-have nowadays, even though there are still few companies hesitating to provide their products for free testing. That’s a pity as they could gain much more potential customers….

My hair almost become grey from the “sluggishness” of the page builder

The worst nightmare of every designer, programmer, as well as end-user… simply everyone… is the website’s slow loading and saving.
It drives me nuts!!! Wix, for example, is an expert in this area — by the time the updated element reloaded on the website, I could relax and make a coffee, have a cigarette… And then, when the whole interface froze down completely, there was nothing else I could do just to try to conquer enemy’s kingdom in the Clash of Clans.

I met the same friend again last weekend by coincidence, the one who recommended me to try Wix. We were chatting about my first impressions from this cloud-based solution — I was telling him that the biggest problem for me is the slowness of the whole system and the other things I cannot really judge properly yet. “Just give it a bit more time and you sure will be happy. Consider getting a more powerful computer,” he said. Man, you cannot be serious…

--

--

Viktor “Why?!” Jakobsen
WebsitesHate.me

Hi, I’m Viktor and I’m trying to sniff out the best website building solution. I like websites but unfortunately websites hate me…