RISKY BUSINESS

By Lauren Engel

--

Original story Bettina Schwedler on 7 January 2015, for Stitch.

This is what happens when a photographer gets her new lights and everything is on the same wavelength: a high energy, strong colour shoot.

“I was really fortunate that I casted the right models, they got exactly the look I was going for.” Says Lauren.

Who are you and why did you become a photographer?
“I am a fashion/event/travel photographer (basically just shooting everything I love!) from Hong Kong, currently in NYC. In middle school I was really into graphic design and colour retouching. I would actually colour retouch other photographers pictures and I figured that I should probably take my own pictures so I can retouch them.”

What is the greatest thing you have accomplished until now?
“Probably shooting for Beats By Dre when I was 19. Dr. Dre was doing a press tour in Asia with Kendrick Lamar and I shot the Hong Kong leg of it: press conference, dinner, then going out and their performance.”

What is your favourite kind of photography? And why?
“My favourite type is definitely fashion photography. I’m really into models as muses: seeing trends in what fashion brands look for in selecting their models. I enjoy working with a team of stylists/makeup artists to carry out my vision of the shoot.”

Read the full story here.

All rights reserved — © Stitch.

--

--

Mike Van Cleven
wecallitSTITCH

Photographer. DOP. Globe roamer. Friend to animals. Son of a great mum. | @mikevancleven | www.mikevancleven.com