Website Backups: Hope For The Best and Prepare For The Worst

Cherie Ronning
Wedding Network USA
2 min readDec 12, 2017

--

Originally published at www.weddingnetworkusa.com.

Around 10am one morning this past Fall, I had panicked call from one of my new clients, who I will call Christine.

Christine was near tears as she explained that her web hosting company had mistakenly labeled her account as “terminated” even though she had fully paid for her website hosting services through the Spring. She told me that the host had completely deleted her website.

Whoops.

Calls to the hosting company’s customer support (and boy do I use the term “support” VERY loosely) ended with responses of “sorry, we can’t help you” and “you’ll have submit a ticket to our email address” (which I will note, still wasn’t responded to *days* later when we formally cancelled the account).

Christine relies on her website heavily to attract and engage her clients (as I’m sure you do as well!) and was in full-on panic mode, thinking she had lost her primary marketing vehicle and that she would have to invest the time and money to re-build from scratch (not to mention the hit that her SEO rankings would take in the process).

So when she called me, I was incredibly relieved to be able to remind Christine that we’d put a backups plan in place for her when we started working together and that her website was safe.

Because we had that plan, we were able to immediately jump into action, restore her website on a brand new hosting provider and have her back up and running that same day.

…finish reading

--

--