Hue Can Do It! Coloring book launch

Reg Silva
Wedgienet
Published in
3 min readSep 9, 2015

Coloring books for adults are all the rage these days. Coloring is supposedly meditative and relaxing, but I’ve never gotten into the whole adult coloring book craze. I assume it’s because I already color as it’s part of my work as an illustrator, so it wouldn’t make sense for me to color outside of work for leisure. I can see how others would gravitate to coloring as a way to pass time and release stress, though.

Riding on the adult coloring book wave, Summit Media and Studio Dialogo extended an invitation to me to be part of a local coloring book publication, along with 40 other Filipino artists. I was honored to be asked and to contribute two pages to Hue Can Do It! and Hue Can Do It, Too!, which launched with a book signing last August 29, 2015 at the Philippine Literary Festival in Raffles Makati.

Poster - PLF 2015 Summit 829
booksigning

The coloring books:

books
regsilvaPLF

With fellow illustrators and contributors Jaime Bauza, Robx Bautista, and Pergy Acuña, all active members of Ang Ilustrador ng Kabataan (Ang InK), the professional organization of children’s book illustrators in the Philippines. I’m an inactive member, huhu.

huecandoit

All the illustrators on stage.

My contributions to the books, with one colored in:

books-spread

Hue Can Do It! and Hue Can Do It, Too! are available in National Bookstore, Fully Booked, and Powerbooks stores nationwide, and in convenience stores (7-Eleven and Ministop) wherever Summit Media publications are sold. The books are available for P295 each. Thank you to Summit Media and Studio Dialogo for the opportunity to be part of this project!

Hue Can Do It! press release: https://www.summitmedia.com.ph/news/summit-books-coloring-books/
Hue Can Do It! on Instagram: http://instagram.com/huecandoit

--

--

Reg Silva
Wedgienet

Illustrator. I like pizza and cupcakes. John 15:1-17